We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing in the extreme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing in the extreme”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently spent two nights at this hotel. The apartment we were allocated had a lovely view over the riverfront and was very comfortable - as expected from the price. The location was good with several local restaurants and being near to town and Cataract Gorge.

Our stay at Peppers Seaport was marred by four incidents:

1. On our arrival at approximately 7 pm, we were sent up to our room but were surprised to find the apartment was not completely ready. The sofa bed in the living room was opened out but not made up. Shortly after our arrival, a maid arrived and proceeded to make up the bed, despite my telling her that it was unnecessary as there were only the two of us. When she left, we tried to close the sofa bed but, owing to the bulk of the bedding, this was unsuccessful. Consequently we stripped the bed and tried to close it without the bedclothes. This was also unsuccessful because the mechanism was faulty. We reported this when we went out to dinner and, in our absence, the sofa bed was closed up. However the bedding was left on a sidetable and remained there throughout the rest of our stay.
2. On our arrival, we were told that we would be charged $8 per night for parking. When we were out at dinner, we discovered that the parking charge listed on the ticket machines was only $5. In addition, our booking through booking.com had indicated that the charge for parking was $5. We were advised on our return that we would only be charged $5. However, when we checked out of the hotel, the account still listed the charge at $8 per night and I had to ask again for it to be reversed.
3. On our arrival, we asked for the code and password for the wireless internet. However the connection was so slow, it was impossible to use. When we left for dinner, we asked for this to be rectified. We were given a different code and password and told to try that. On our return, we did try but could not inactivate the original code. Next morning, we spoke to the person at the front desk and he promised to have the connection investigated by the IT staff and to disconnect the unsatisfactory code. On our return that evening, this had not been done and we were advised to “wait for 40 minutes when the original code would expire”. After this, the new code worked very well but we had missed 24 hours of internet contact.
4. On our arrival in our room, we found that, in addition to the sofa bed issue, there was a half-empty bottle of water in the bathroom. We took this down to the front desk when we went out to dinner. I was absolutely amazed to arrive back in Sydney and to receive a letter from “Pamela, Guest Service Agent “at the hotel who advised me that she had charged $6.12 to my credit card for a bottle of water from the mini bar. We did not use anything from the mini bar. At the very least, this charge must be refunded.

We have written to the Hotel group about these examples of poor management - not up to the standard expected of this group.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElspethGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Valued Reviewer,

I am sorry to learn that there were so many factors that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you.

I was surprised to read your feedback regarding our complementary Internet as this facility are usually the most highly praised for our attentiveness. I apologise that it has failed you on this occasion.

Please accept my apology if our recently increase on car park charges does not communicate to Booking.com. I trust my team have reversed the charges accordingly.

Your feedback is vital in order for us to improve. I very much appreciate you sharing your concerns. I do hope that you will one day return to the Peppers Seaport and give us the opportunity to show you that we really can be exceptional in every sense.

Please contact myself directly should you wish to discuss anything further.

Regards

Junio Karo Karo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    288
    77
    29
    19
See reviews for
124
432
26
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

we had a river view room, It was clean and new looking, with a spacious sitting area, good wifi, and plent of electrical outlets.Comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. The position is very convenient, with a few good casual restaurants within walking distance.
breakfast is purchased in the cafe on the riverfront, pay per item, which suited us very well, it was good quality.
a trouble free stay in a good position with plent of parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

We very much value your review, and enjoyed your recommendation of choosing a room with a spacious room over one with a North Esk River view.

Thank you for sharing your opinions of our location and rooms standards. Please feel free to contact us if we can improve on room cleanliness, service and value.

Kind Regards

Junio Karo Karo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We started our Tasmanian tour in a spacious river view suite. Great views, well appointed, clean room. Being just out of the City centre was ideal, with plenty of riverside restaurants to choose from. As previously mentioned, service levels varied greatly. We used minimal facilities as this was our base for exploring the region. I suggest that some employees could be a little more motivated when providing hospitality services. A nice hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: River view rooms are at the rear, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much value your review, and enjoyed your recommendation of choosing a room with a spacious lounge over one with a North Esk River View. The joy of our pretigious hotel are the location of the hotel in Marina and variance in the room layout. I must agree with you, hotel's riverside is also my favourite view but there is no better side or better view isn't it. It's just personal preference. Personal photos on tripadvisor must be a good bonus for travelers as they can clearly see the real thing.

Thank you for sharing your opinions of our staff. I hope our team can be consistent in delivering an excellent service standards despite how busy sometime at front office.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we look forward to have you staying with us in recent future.

Regards
Junio Karo Karo
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed a week, in a river view room with a lounge/kitchen. The hotel is relatively new, and in nice condition. Our room was exceptional - plenty of space, clean, good cooking amenities and free WiFi. More than exceptional though not cheap.
Service varies a lot - we found this all around Launceston - depending on the individual providing it.
The boardwalk right outside the hotel offers a range of dining/wining experiences, of which we found Salsa (tapas) by far the best quality. The walk around the boardwalk takes you to a seafood restaurant (name forgotten). If you keep walking to the Mill, there is another restaurant, plus the Mill Providore, which is an excellent place for food, wine, cheese etc. Also some excellent local craft.
But back to Peppers....It is a 20 minute walk to the centre of town. We used Taxis Combined quite often, and found them reliable and prompt - $10 including a tip seemed to cover most journeys we took. Hotel staff will book them for you.
Mud restaurant on the ground floor provides the room service, and is ok, with hugely variable service. To be honest, we avoided it after the first couple of days.
Ask for a river view rather than city view. While not pretty - some kind a concrete quarry opposite - it is interesting in the different lights from dawn to dusk.
All in all, a nice place, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFLonergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear value guest,

Choosing the perfect hotel for a week at Launceston is very important. My self and team were honored to accommodate you and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I could not agree more, the hotel is located on beautiful Marina and it is just a short walk to exquisite Gorge and Cataract.

We do look forward to your return and thank you for rating us four star.

Regards
Junio Karo Karo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night before & after 4 day Bay of Fires walk. First night stayed in a room on the road side, it was very noisy. Internet didn't work properly & various things were broken in the room - safe, microwave, chair...
On return stayed in room marina side. Much quieter, but Internet still didn't work properly.
Would say this hotel is much more of a motel standard, but there is not much choice in Launceston.
Would not stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies if you found a room is noisy and internet are slow. This particular room has fitted with double layered glasses and the curtain absorb 10% traffic noise. I could not agree more with you, the Internet is such a commodity for traveller. The hotel provide a free internet for each guest and the capacity can go slower when the occupancy is high.

Please don't hinder to contact us on your next visit and we love to hear feed back directly from you specialy with few things not working in the room.

Regards
Junio Karo Karo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A mate and I stayed wih our wives after walking the Overland and my wife and I found this an excellent location. Big rooms (we had a view of the marina), a good location without being in the dead in the middle of town (not that Launceston is huge), all the services you'd expect, good staff (well, my mate had one bad experience, but really, they were pretty good), plenty of good, affordable restaraunts near by. We had to pay $8/day for parking, which seemed a little steep for where we were, but not unbearable. And the rooms might have benefited from a bit better sound proofing (we had one noisy night in three, and we were above the main night spot, so we did okay).

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the Tamar or the Marina - not a big deal but it does add a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many guests comment on the size of our rooms, it seems many modern 4.5 star hotel rooms, aren't as generous. We are proud with the hotel's location and the view of North Esk Rivier is our unique selling points for guests who enjoy the beauty of Launceston ambience, a comfortable room with good customer service.

Your comments on car park charges is interesting. The hotel does not own the car park spaces and I trust $8 parking charges are reasonable and competitive around Launceston.

I could not agree more, room facing to Marina and/or North Esk River view is a bonus to beautiful room and location of the hotel.

Kind Regards

Junio Karo Karo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I stay in this hotel because my company has a deal with Peppers. Given a choice, I wouldn't stay here only because I can't guarantee a river view each visit - the city side is far too noisy. The location is lovely and is great for people/boat watching and river walking. Easy walk into town centre. Lots of eateries in the Seaport complex. Nice selection of toiletries, real milk and good size coffee cups are a bounds. The apartments are a good size and standard rooms ok.

As already stated, the city side is noisy from traffic and the air con is also noisy. Not sure that the tariff is justified, given you pay extra for parking and there are other alternatives in Launceston, especially if you like a more individual B&B approach.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FinoniTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peppersseaport, General Manager at Peppers Seaport Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest at Hobart,

Thank you for your recent feedback detailing about the room noise. The city view side can be noisy sometime as the highway infront the hotel is a major traffic from Launceston to industrial area.

It is always a pleasure if we can provide guests with the same room category they enjoyed on a regular basis. In some occassion when the hotel reached to full occupancy and we could not give complementary up grade to river view. It will be great if company prepared to accept different room charges.

Thank you for assisting us with the feedback regarding the location, facilities in the room and food outlet in Seaport complex.


Regards
Junio Karo Karo
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.1 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers Seaport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers Seaport Hotel

Property: Peppers Seaport Hotel
Address: 28 Seaport Bvd, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers Seaport Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peppers Seaport Hotel offers modern, waterfront accommodation. Situated at the heart of Launceston's Old Seaport Dock area, the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes offering a good choice of fine food and more casual dining. Just a short walk from Launceston's town centre and 15 minutes drive from Launceston Airport the hotel is built in the shape of a ship on the site of an old dry dock. The hotel exudes a stylish, contemporary design with a distinct nautical feel, accentuated by the extensive use of natural timbers and muted ocean tones. Accommodation includes deluxe rooms and suites with views overlooking the Esk River or the historic town and the mountains beyond. Guest room facilities include air conditioning, hairdryer, STD/ISD phone systems, fax/modem telephone lines, broadband internet access, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, TV, mini-stereo, clock radio, complimentary bathroom amenities and iron and ironing board. If you are staying in a Suite there are additional facilities including DVD player, desk & chair, large refrigerator, bar stools, armchair, lounge with sofa bed, fully equipped kitchen with microwave & dishwasher, washing machine, dryer and all our suites feature a balcony. Of an evening tantalise your taste buds with an exquisite dining experience at Mud Bar and Restaurant serving an eclectic mix of cuisines from around the world. To accompany your meal indulge in superb Tasmanian wines while admiring captivating Tamar Valley views. Adventures further afield include the impressive Cataract Gorge, the famous James Boag brewery and if youre a wine lover, Launcestons Tamar Valley, home to one of Australia's major cool-climate wine growing regions. The hotel makes an ideal accommodation base for a weekend away, short break or romantic escape and is a great base for exploring the Tamar Valley either by car or by river cruise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers Seaport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Seaport Launceston
Hotel Peppers Seaport
Peppers Seaport Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing