We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inside Cafe Launceston

Inside Cafe Launceston
Ranked #30 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We cater for breakfast, lunch, coffee and takeaway from Monday to Friday, 7:30am - 4pm and 8am - 3:30pm on Saturday. You'll find that we use the freshest and best ingredients. From locally sourced, full-flavoured herbs, coffee roasted in Hobart through to Tasmania's award winning Ashgrove milk and Meander Valley cream, we aspire to give you a delicious culinary experience.We bake our own bread, make our own sauces and keep each dish simple, expressing natures rich, yet simple flavours.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at inside cafe, I chose the sesame, soy beef flatbread, it was delicious, while my husband had the bacon steak, and pineapple roll which he also enjoyed. The service was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the gift shop is also worthy of a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    48
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A modern Australian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A favorite of my partner, Inside Cafe is a great meeting spot for coffee and cake. Depending on the whim of the pastry chef varied creations can accompany your drink that are not on the menu. The muesli is a delicious breakfast. We need more cafes like this in Launceston and hopefully others will get the message. Yes it can get a bit busy on a Saturday morning and please don't bring a double pram unless you are prepared to sit on the communal table closest to the entrance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank basename164_friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
341 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Service was a let down this time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went with a girlfriend for lunch. Kitchen closes at 2pm but specials available until 2.30pm closes at 3.30pm. I chose the open chicken Caesar sandwich which was small but beautiful. Half a baby cos lettuce grilled bacon poached egg poached chicken on a soft crouton. It was very well presented and moist as the chicken. Had to flag a waitress down to order had to flag a waitress down to order a coffee which was indeed forgotten but apology made. It was getting near closing time though. Drinks also available by the glass if consuming a meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inside Café L, Public Relations Manager at Inside Cafe Launceston, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi TasmaniaLovesydney,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience with us again and we are glad you enjoyed our food and found it delicious. We do certainly try to make it the best experience possible for our customers. We are sorry to hear that the service you received was less than satisfactory. Even though you said it was toward the end of the day, we want to give our customers our best at all times, so thanks for sharing it with us, we really appreciate the feedback and will share it amongst the team.

We hope to see you again soon and give you the best food, coffee and service that we can offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yummy breakfast. Salmon Rosti with poached eggs was pretty delicious on a cold rainy morning. Just outside the Quest Launceston

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Venue uses historical features of the building for interest. Friendly efficient staff and inventive yummy breakfast menu

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreatTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inside Cafe Launceston also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Inside Cafe Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing