We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious drinks and wholesome food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milkbar cafe + workshop

Milkbar cafe + workshop
Ranked #82 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Delicious drinks and wholesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My husband and I often go into Milkbar for lunch when we're home visiting our families. Their Chocolate Milkshakes and Berry Smoothies are amazing! And they don't skimp on your milkshake by only giving you a glass, they also serve you the metal container they make it in with the extra amount. I order a focaccia and he orders a quiche. Our 2 year old fussy daughter always manages to find something to her liking as well. It's also one of the go to places my in-laws go to for lunch on their work breaks - they're the ones that introduced us to Milkbar. Even though seating can be limited sometimes (a true indication that a café is doing well!) you just wait patiently and it won't be long until you get to sit down. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eloise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evandale, Australia
1 review
“Friendly and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a fun little Cafe with craft and kitchen accessories. I really enjoyed reading through the different cookbooks. Coffee was great too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great coffee and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Went in to this lovely coffee shop and had an excellent coffee, lovely lunch and took a little something sweet away for afternoon tea!

Great service from lovely, genuine people. This cafe is well worth dropping in for a quick drink and a bite to eat.

My companion raved about the milkshake and also had a tasty lunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFlashBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had lunch here a few times. The staff were lovely, and the food was very tasty. I had a toasted vegetarian roll/panini, and it wasn't the usual boring stuff. The ingredients were a bit more offbeat, but combined well together. The cakes were also nice, not the commercial variety, more a homemade style. Will return here for lunch on my next visit to Launceston.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0be_r0ver_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My favorite cafe in launceston by far, my friends and I love going in to sit and relax. The atmosphere is wonderful, the music they play is perfect, the service is excellent and the food is delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milkbar cafe + workshop also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Milkbar cafe + workshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing