We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and homely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Launceston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Forest Road Apartments
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“Elegant and homely”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The two of us were already looking forward to staying here, but were pleasantly surprised by just how beautiful this renovated older-style apartment was. It was a drizzly winter night he we stayed - the owner had left the fairy lights on in the front garden to welcome us, and the place was deliciously warm. We felt very smug looking out at the spectacular views over the river to the city and enjoying a meal we cooked ourselves in the well appointed kitchen (with gas stove)!
The owner has thought of everything you might need, but cleverly tucked everything away so that you have whatever your need at your fingertips without the place feeling fussy. The main bedrooms are spacious and private, perfect for relaxing. The living room is luxurious and I can imagine it would be a really wonderful place to stay with more people.
I would definitely go back, and would stay longer next time to really make the most of this cosy and classy retreat.

Room Tip: The 2 double bedrooms are the highlight. Single room is nothing special, but perfectly serviceable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bec t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing and unique apartment! Everything is so well thought of and the hospitality by Jo was of exceptional standard! My daughter loved the chickens and couldn't leave the bunnies alone! The most beautiful apartment, not to mention the most comfortable beds! And magnificent views!Everything was so homely we are sad to leave! I would nominate forest road apartments for best tourism award! We will definitely be back! Thank you!! A hidden secret!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basket10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawker, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and two young sons stayed at this property. We travel extensively around the country for sport staying in short stay rental houses. As you know most have broken items in them, lights don't work and there is never anything in the kitchen to cook with. Well not this place...it was fantastic. Jo even provided breakfast cereal, welcome Tassie chocky fudge, it had Wifi, heaps of DVDs and you could actually cook a meal in the kitchen. What a great place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As soon as we walked through the door, we felt at home! Everything was excellent-quality, clean, neat, and well thought-out. The view is spectacular..the chickens and rabbits made it lovely and homely. Jo was our invisible host, we knew she was there if we needed anything, but gave us our privacy at the same time. For children there would be no getting bored...hours of entertainment in the form of games, crafts, dvd's etc. I was astonished at how Jo has catered for everyone!It was the little things that made for a comfortable stay (like electric blankets, and all the ingredients to make gourmet muffins!!) Well done, and we would definitely come visit again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay with children. My son spent most of the time when we were out asking to go back to the place on the hill so he could play with the toys. Clean, well located and everything you could possibly imagine and more. Thank you for having such a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Casandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Book this property! It is the best place we have ever stayed. Perfect location with beautiful views overlooking the river. Clean, neat, stylish accommodation with everything you may need. Great deli nearby too. Jo, the host, was so generous, leaving us a little note and ingredients to make muffins, plus heaps of info on local attractions and where to get food. Can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We can only echo the other reviews on this place. It was well located, clean and tidy and offered all of the home comforts that you'd require. Our 10-year old daughter had to be dragged out when we wanted to go anywhere as there was so much to do 'at home'. Watching the changing view from the lounge room over the period of a day was a highlight. Would definitely stay again when visiting Launceston. Thanks Jo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrsamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.3 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.5 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
4.1 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
737 reviews
1.1 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forest Road Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Road Apartments

Property: Forest Road Apartments
Address: 92 Forest Rd | Trevallyn, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views over Launceston's Tamar River and surrounding mountains close plus close proximity to the city centre, Forest Road Apartments are the perfect base for two to six people to explore the Cataract Gorge and Tamar Valley wine route. Our self contained 2 and 3 bedroom apartments have everything you need for family or business needs.Split system heating/air conditioning, large screen tv with full Foxtel channel selection in living area / large dvd library, second tv/dvd player in bedroom, children's toy and craft cupboard, fully equipped large kitchens, laundry facilities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Forest Road Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing