We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home with extras”
Review of Topiary Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Topiary Haven
Ranked #12 of 32 Launceston B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Arrived here having done my searches and expected a good quality place to stay for 3 nights but was blown away by the quality, friendliness, and the extras which made my stay a relaxed one.
From the quality of the furnishings to the supplied produce, including a magnificent cheese platter, bacon, eggs, fresh breads, biscuits and more.
This is a private and quiet place to unwind with the fabulous gardens adding to the atmosphere.. Whilst I was visiting for work I will definitely return with my partner to enjoy once again. Thanks to Diana and Barry for allowing me to experience your wonderful hospitaity.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Owner at Topiary Haven, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Rob ,
Thank you for your review - greatly appreciated by us .
Another first rate review received ..We strive to make our guests feel welcome and experience our Tassie hospitality and also for them to take home some great memories of Launceston and Topiary Haven . We have included many little extras for our guests convenience because , we have experienced arriving in a unfamiliar place after travelling ( not knowing where to get provisions ) , just wanting a quick snack and therefore Topiary Haven provides a welcoming larder .We love having guests visit us in Lonnie , Tasmania and looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future .
Kind regards ,
Diana C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

Topiary Haven exceeded all our expectations, located at the end of the owner's garden, but with complete privacy, the accommodation is five star plus, with so many thoughtful extra's. Comprising of a bedroom, living/dining area and full kitchen, with a small private courtyard garden outside, it was more than adequate for the two of us.

Breakfast provisions are provided, with fresh produce and herbs from the owner's garden a bonus.

Location wise it was close to Cataract Gorge, which is well worth a visit.

Were the two of us to return to Launceston, on our own, we would have no hesitation in returning to this great accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Owner at Topiary Haven, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for the great review you gave us at Topiary Haven .
We love sharing our ' private haven ' with our guests and most importantly that our guests enjoy their stay in a relaxed tranquil environment whilst visiting Launceston.
We love our garden and will have our wall garden ready for viewing on our website and Facebook shortly .
We look forward to a return visit from the both of you in the not too distant future .

Kind regards,

Diana & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. I would recommend this place to everyone looking for a retreat experience. The accommodation and taste of the owners was exquisite. From the moment you opened the door you were in awe. Local Tasmanian produce was supplied including wonderful breakfast provisions, the best passionfruit short bread biscuits, organic milk and apple juice, jams a coffee machine and loads of coffee and tea selections, yummy breads and a fruit bowl were also supplied. The kitchen was to dream for, the bedroom was amazing, TVs in every room, DVDs, magazines, books, CDs were supplied. We didn't want to leave and truly relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Owner at Topiary Haven, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for the top review you gave us at Topiary Haven . Greatly appreciated !
We were pleased that you both enjoyed the Tasmanian produce / products and our ' little Haven ' nestled a private garden and also found it a truly relaxing environment...
We both love meeting and greeting all our guests and giving lots of ' Tassie hospitality ' to them whilst they are staying at Topiary Haven.

Kindest regards ,

Barry & Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was without doubt one of the best places we have stayed. We have travelled across the world and have experienced many styles of accommodation. Diana, the host of Topiary Haven was delightful. Gave us lots of information about the area and then left us alone. The apartment was beautifully appointed with attention to detail. The provisions for breakfast and snacking were just outstanding. Diana has thought of everything. There was nothing we could fault. From the coffee machine with nescafe caps to the wonderful cheese platter, the abundance of things you need to cook, herbs, oil, butter, margarine, sauce +++++. The garden is gorgeous and although we had very wet weather, the ability to relax and look out across Launceston made the experience all the better. This really is an excellent place to stay and I would rate it 6 stars if I could.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie001Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Owner at Topiary Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Hello Elaine ,
Thank you for the excellent review you gave us at Topiary Haven - and that you found the accommodation a relaxing , comfortable and enjoyable place to stay in Launceston . We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back at Topiary Haven in the near future . Will have the ' sun ' umbrella up waiting for you !!
Kind regards ,
Diana & Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Very clean, spacious retreat with a kitchen I could only dream about, I didn't even need to open my book. Great outlook, beautiful garden and I've never seen a place like the Cataract Gorge only 5 mins walk. I'll be back for my next holiday without the kids.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gazzacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana C, Owner at Topiary Haven, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Very please you enjoyed your stay a Topiary Haven.
We agree ...perfect place for a couples retreat !
Hope you return in the near future .

Kind regards ,

Diana & Barry - TOPIARY HAVEN

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.3 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
932 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.5 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
2.6 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#7 of 30 in Launceston
751 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topiary Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topiary Haven

Address: 27 Brougham St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $179 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Topiary Haven 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious quality self contained private apartment - nestled in a private garden with views of the garden, Launceston city and distant mountains.. Quality Tasmanian timbers, furnishings, and fittings gives this accommodation a Tasmanian style, offering a Tassie 'home away from home ' for guests. We provide a generous complimentary breakfast hamper to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Topiary Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topiary Haven Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing