We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very low quality sushi”
Review of Wan Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wan Restaurant
Ranked #200 of 312 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very low quality sushi”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Undoubtedly the worst sushi I've ever had. Hard rice, sour tasting salmon. My family were all starving and love sushi...but literally couldn't eat it. The 4 bucks a piece is steep for a sushi roll, but id be happy to pay that for good,fresh sushi..what I got today was rubish! It tasted like it was from the back of the fridge & made a week ago...just awful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank thehungryitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wan, you are missed. Bento, lift your game”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wan is gone, replaced by the same owners' cut-price takeaway offering. Sadly, the care and attention once lavished on the food is gone as well. Two visits in the last week - and both were unacceptable. Dining in is now a matter of eating from a cardboard container, and the sushi (takeaway) was neither fresh nor edible. As Wan was so good, we can't fathom what has gone wrong here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank morewine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yummy !!!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here expecting wan resturant but now a bento store i didnt care.
The value for money All you could eat is just devine. All u can eat sushi,fresh to order hot meals, it was all just simply amaizing !!!!
Will go back again and again !!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lef12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“WAN has gone replaced by Bento on George”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This place used to be WAN a Japanese restaurant that doubled as a sushi bar during the day. WAN was run by the same people who own all the bento box places around town. You can still get a few extras not on others bento boxes menus but the menu is very streamlined for a more casual dining after as is the drinks list. The best part about this place is it is now opened until 3pm and then reopens of an evening and you can buy sushi by the slice so you can taste all the different flavours. I enjoy sushi here about twice a week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TasmaniaLovesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing quality and value, a great little find.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I was looking for a Japanese restaurant for our one night in Launceston and came up with this little gem with the help of Trip Advisor. Don't be put off by the rather uninspiring interior, the food was fabulous (spicy tuna and garlic scallops were great) and the prices are hard to believe. I don't quite know why rhe saki menu read $60 a bottle, then when I asked if they served a hot one, I was told, yes, for $6 a small bottle, but it all added to the charm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanjeanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wan Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Wan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing