We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“restaurant needs a revamp”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrace Restaurant

Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tasmania's most awarded restaurant!The multi-award-winning restaurant is Country Club Tasmania's top-of-the-line dining experience.The restaurant serves contemporary cuisine that is superbly crafted using the freshest Tasmanian produce. The menus are regularly updated to reflect the seasonal variety of local ingredients, and the dishes are ingeniously flavoured and exquisitely presented.Local Tamar Valley wines can be matched perfectly to one of our delcious main courses or our guests have the opportunity to select their own wine in the custom-designed 2400-bottle Tasmanian blackwood wine room.Treat yourself to an evening of gourmet food, fine wine, and impeccable 5 star service.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“restaurant needs a revamp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thought would be nice to go to a la carte restaurant and get spoilt but unfortunately one of the staff ruined it for the others, she was stuck up and unhelpful and obviously does not like her job there I did not get her name but you will know her, doesn't know how to smile obviously. Restaurant needs an update and decor is boring, food was nice and thats about all, overpriced for the service and quality of the event, would not go again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank carwhisperer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    38
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Simply Perfection!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently dined at the Terrace and after hearing so many recommendations from friends, decided to try out the "Free Fall" option. We just told the waitress what food we didn't like, then left it up to the talented chefs to decide what we ate!! It was very exciting and each course was just as amazing as the last, creative, delicious and cooked to perfection. It also allowed us to try all kinds of fresh local produce and experience fine dining at its best! We would recommend the Free Fall to everyone as value for money is amazing and it won't leave you disappointed! We left very happy and full customers and it was refreshing to finally have a meal somewhere, that was faultless!! Will definetley be back soon!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrace Restaurant - a place for a quick meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

A very convenient setting for meals on a daily basis. Great variety of hot/cold dishes changed on a daily basis

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jayar75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The right atmosphere but service lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We dined at The Terrace Restaurant for our recent wedding anniversary. After the walk through the Country Club we were pleasantly surprised by the restaurant's decor&atmosphere.
Unfortunately the service was a bit lacking from the start and got worse as the night went on. Complimentary bread (arrived after our entree), starter & palate cleanser were lovely touches.
The food was ok, very over cooked prawns in the seafood taste plate, my trout main was nice, and I was looking forward to dessert. The options looked great including the chocolate taste plate...
We had the dessert menus for over 15mins, ready to order, without anyone coming near us. Apparently polishing&straightening glasses at the bar was more of a priority...so we left without dessert and paid the bill at the bar. Quite disappointing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Outstanding service, staff looked after us very well and had excellent attending to detail. The meal was very nice and was served in only the best way

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damianclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing