We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly unique and lovely experience.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Guests favourite spot for meals. Coffee pod machine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Guests favourite spot for meals.
Coffee pod machine
Some of the kitchen appliances
Fully equipped laundry.
Tasmanian blackheart sassafras timber cabinets.
Topiary Westies grown and trimmed  by us!
Small potager garden and how productive it has been...
View to the patio/ bbq area now displaying succulent artwork. Changed with the seasons..
Ice making fridge
...and yes we have the tick of approval from Tourism Australia for Topiary Haven Garden Apartment
Waterwise border of succulents..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Launceston, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rob h
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A truly unique and lovely experience.”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Dianna's welcome was so friendly, we immediately felt relaxed and at home. The fridge and pantry were generously stocked with fresh ingredients. The view over the Launceston valley and city was delightful as was the garden setting. Topiary Haven is a very accurate description, the garden was a continuous source of surprise and delight. Being spring, the fragrances and evening/morning birdsong were a real treat. The lovely private courtyard off the kitchen for a cuppa or a nice bubbly and nibbles in the arvo after a day exploring the history of 'Lonnie' was just the ticket. Succulents galore framed like living paintings!
Bed very comfy, Birds eye sassafras kitchen bench and cupboards with beautiful glass collection on show was a highlight. loved the location, within walking distance of the Gorge and the Tamar precinct (hilly but that's Lonnie and you have to love walking here cause its the best way to see everything).
All in all could not have asked for better accom for our stay in Launceston.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about our stay was marvelous
Liked least: the agent took the whole fee when we booked 6mths in advance. highly recommend contacting owner direct instead of paying via air bnb. agent doesn't pay owner until after you have stayed.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2015
Thank you Rob for the lovely descriptive review and also the great photographs you posted - most appreciated.
Barry & I are very pleased you found our accommodation relaxing, garden a source of surprise and delight and our 'haven ' a good place to return after exploring our city. Lots of places at the accommodation to enjoy a cuppa or a glass of bubbly or two ... with nibbles.
We hope to see you again one day in the near future for a return visit to Launceston and Topiary Haven.
Best wishes,
Diana & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RocketMel...
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I stayed at Topiary Garden B & B for 4 nights and were mightily impressed. Whatever we needed to make our stay great we found had been already provided by Diana and Barry. The ambience of the garden location was fantastic and we both agreed this was the best place we have ever stayed at within Australia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The state of the property and the ambience of the garden location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thank you for the top review ' best ever ' you submitted. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at our garden accommodation, as our goal is for guests to have an enjoyable stay with us and take home great memories of Tasmania. The cheeky resident birds have again built a nest in an ivy topiary and the little hen is sitting on three eggs ( the pair were collecting the mulch when you visited ).
Hope to see you back for a relaxing stay again..
Kind regards,
Diana & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane H
Snowy Mountains, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic - better than 5 stars.”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Topiary Haven for three nights and I was sorry we couldn't stay longer. Diana and Barry fully pamper their guests and thoughtfully provide everything one could want or need. After spending the day exploring Launceston, we chose to stay in for the evening because the home is so inviting and comfortable. It's not a chore to prepare your own meal when you can relax and enjoy your surroundings. The garden is a wonderful walled garden which is viewed through all windows. There are cheeky birds to enjoy as well. Overall, a place to relax and recharge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
Thank you for submitting this excellent review of Topiary Haven.
We enjoy looking after our guests ( pamper ) and providing a welcoming larder for them to enjoy during their stay. Glad you found everything you required to ' cook up a storm ' in the kitchen - makes the cooking task easier if you have the equipment and the local supermarket 3 minutes walk away.
The birds are very busy and amusing scratching the Lucerne and building their nests - last year the nest was a little bucket in the gazebo for 4 chicks ( posted on Facebook ).
Hope to see you again in the not too distant future for a return visit to Topiary Haven.
Kind regards,
Diana & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisabeth...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A fabulous find in Launceston which ticks all the boxes and more”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We recently had a four night stay at Topiary Haven and loved every aspect of it. We were welcomed to the cottage mid-evening by our hosts - it was an absolute delight to be shown into a warm, inviting and beautifully prepared cottage. Our hosts had provisioned our stay so generously with local fresh foods - cheeseboard on arrival, fruit, pantry, breakfast hamper, wine selection and more. Every time we walked in the door from our day trips we felt very much at home, and the electric blankets were much appreciated with the low temperatures. The cottage is so well equipped and presented, with no compromise on quality. Each window offers a view of a very special and beautifully tended garden. We would highly recommend this delightful cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Topiary Haven exceeded our expectations
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2014
Thank you for submitting this excellent review for our accommodation Topiary Haven.
We like to personally welcome our guests and pass on information to them about the property, local area and the Tamar Valley - as well, providing a welcoming larder for them to enjoy during their stay. We love it when our guests leave relaxed and satisfied..
We are avid gardeners and also enjoy creating garden art ( much recycled ) to surprise and amuse our guests.
Hope that you return in the not too distant future for another stay at our accommodation in Launceston , Tasmania.
Kind regards,
Diana & Barry.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilynbe...
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than a five star experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Topiary Haven is indeed a haven. We can't recommend it highly enough. Diana and Barry are the perfect hosts and have left no stone unturned to ensure that their guests have a delightful stay. We had two perfect weeks there and enjoyed every moment from the time we arrived and were presented with a platter laden with delicious local fare right to the end of our stay when Diana and Barry waved us off for the next part of our journey.

Located in a peaceful garden with views over the city, the cottage is spacious, extremely comfortable and very tastefully decorated. We also appreciated the well-stocked refrigerator, which was replenished time and time again. Another five-star experience was the bed. In fact, we found it so comfortable that we have now purchased a similar one.

As seasoned travellers we had never experienced quite this level of attention to detail. We both agreed it was one of the best, if not the best, place we stayed anywhere in the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2014
Thank you for the top rate review you gave us at Topiary Haven in Launceston.
We are very pleased you enjoyed our unique Tassie accommodation ,Tasmanian fare , local attractions and our hospitality and look forward to your return visit in 2015 .
Greatly appreciated by both Barry and myself .
Kind regards ,
Diana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_mckenz1...
Pukekohe
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage,with everthing you will need,situated in a beautiful garden”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage is very well equipped,top of the line applicances,and very comfortable.The hosts are friendly and helpful.The cottage is only a short distance from the city centre.Diana provides a cheese board on arrival,which was appreciated after a long drive. Also there was breakfast supplies and salad ingredients in the fridge.Excellent accommodation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2013
Thank you Bev and Bruce for the excellent review you gave us at Topiary Haven.
Very pleased you found the cottage well equipped and most importantly comfortable and conveniently located for your stay in Launceston .
Our aim is to ensure our guests find it relaxing , private , well stocked accommodation and to experience an enjoyable stay in Launceston , taking home some great memories .
Hope you will visit Tasmania and our accommodation again in the not too distant future .
Kind regards ,
Diana & Barry
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pommieexp...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The accommodation is set at the rear of the block so is very quiet. The whole property is immaculate and you walk through the exquisite garden which is delightful. The unit/cottage itself is completely separate from Diana & Barrys house and is absolutely 5 star. The kitchen / meals area is perfect and you have great views from the dining area. There were fresh biscuits & bread provided in addition to the wonderful cheese platter, eggs, cling film, paper towls,etc ,etc etc,etc (we should have explored the kitchen more before we went shopping!) and Diana and Barry were the perfect hosts. The place was clean, and features a large bedroom with ensuite (stocked with plenty of towels) and walk in robe and a laundry. With a supply of CDs and some DVDs it was absolutely wonderful. It is also about a 1km away from the Gorge so ideally located. We are definitely coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the accomodation
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2013
Thank you 'Pommieexpat ' for the excellent review you gave us at Topiary Haven . We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at our accommodation and we hope to see you back again in the near future . We love our garden and "Haven ' and our aim is for guests to enjoy staying in a relaxing environment and to leave with the batteries 'fully charged '....
Thank you for the wine - very enjoyable !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing