We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What time do you close?”
Review of The Pasta Merchant

The Pasta Merchant
Ranked #64 of 314 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Fast Food
Description: Our pasta and sauces are made fresh daily - our aim is delicious, healthy, affordable 'fast food'. All our meals are available to eat in, take away (hot to go) or heat at home at your convenience. We also make in store our own range of gelato - Go Go Gelato, included by Jill Dupleix in her 'The Best Gelato in Australia' list.
Restaurant details
Description: Our pasta and sauces are made fresh daily - our aim is delicious, healthy, affordable 'fast food'. All our meals are available to eat in, take away (hot to go) or heat at home at your convenience. We also make in store our own range of gelato - Go Go Gelato, included by Jill Dupleix in her 'The Best Gelato in Australia' list.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Most reviews in this forum are based on dining at a restaurant.

This review is based on a phone call.

We telephoned this restaurant at around 8:00 pm to ask (i) what time they closed, and (ii) if they allowed BYO.

The answer was (i) they closed at 9:00, and (ii) yes, they were a BYO.

So we showed up at around 8:35 with a bottle of wine, only to be told that they were not taking any more dine-ins, and all we could get was takeaways!

We did let then know that we had called earlier for clarifications; but all we got was a shrug and a 'sorry about that'.

Ah well, we went off elsewhere for dinner. Their loss.........

1  Thank MJD013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We are a small cafe and the majority of our business is take away, we ARE byo and we DO close at 9pm. The information given was correct and I am surprised that you would think that arriving at 8.35 allows sufficient time for a meal and a bottle of wine! It is, therefore, very difficult to respond positively to this review.

Cheers,
The Pasta Merchant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Pasta Merchant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 83 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Pasta Merchant is a "must go to" for your next trip to Launceston! Situated in Charles Street the restaurant offers a great casual a la carte menu with a friendly vibe, great service and awesome fresh pasta! So reasonably priced with excellent family deals - the kids will love it. A newly added gelato bar ("Smarty pants" is a personal fav) also adds to that real Italian flavour. It also does a great coffee and the carrot cake is the best I've tasted and I do love my carrot cake!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wyllie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks so much for your fantastic review - reviews like this really make our day!!

Cheers,
The Pasta Merchant : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Costed today for the fist time and was blown away by how fresh and tasty the food was.
As a rep I don't have a lot of time but what was served to me today in the time was fantastic
Will defiantly go back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 9876paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to do a review - that's great to hear!

Cheers,
The Pasta Merchant :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Came here on a Saturday evening, nice and quiet. Came due to recommendation by the Lonely Planet, looking forward to a good meal but was very disappointed when the food came (fettucine marinara and potato gnocchi). Staff took the food out and microwaved it. Residual water from the sauce of my marinara was at the bottom of the plate with the fettucine looking like instant noodles- soft and white. Sauce was seriously just lacking... Watery and can hardly see the 'seafood'- probably from a frozen pack... how does that live up to the 'fresh pasta' written on the menu?I want to write good things but my findings just cant justify this. The only up side is the service staff who was warm and friendly. Was told no chef works on the weekend. Puzzling as i would thought a popular eatery like this would be busy at this time of the week, and microwaving food is just unacceptable. Perhaps i should have come on a week day but... Once bitten twice shy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bluebirdsbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Our pasta and sauces are made fresh daily and put in portion controlled containers. You choose your preferred type of pasta, your preferred sauce and we have your meal ready in a couple of minutes. It's healthy, fresh 'fast food' and it's also how we manage to do our meals for around $11 eat in and even less take away. Our most expensive dish is our hand-made gnocchi at $13 which is hugely popular.

The Pasta Merchant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

only ate once but could have eaten every single night. fresh food, fast service, cheap but worth every penny, on same block as our apartment so very convenient

Thank Cosmicgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mamurchis, Owner at The Pasta Merchant, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review - that's great to hear!

Cheers,
The Pasta Merchant : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pasta Merchant also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to The Pasta Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing