We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee and terrific food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aromas Cafe

Aromas Cafe
Ranked #79 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great coffee and terrific food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This place is the haunt of the launy hospital staff - but if you don't mind the risk of inadvertently overhearing graphic medical conversations then aromas is well worth a visit.

Food and coffee are excellent. Service is usually great - but this particular day I waited for what seemed forever to be served while six staff potted round behind the counter. Must say those bench tops were gleaming!!

Will forgive this indies creation and will definitely be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tassie_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Such a busy cafe!
Amazing food display cabinet of cake and pastries and savouries.
Plenty of space to sit.

Service is friendly and fast - food always served and presented well. Enjoyed the cakes.

Right near the hospital too.

Coffee is good but not great. Really popular with locals and we are becoming regulars! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alittle_pinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed across the road at the hotel Charles and frequented the Aroma several times in our short stay. The coffee is superb and we marveled at the staff ability to cope with a large Saturday morning crowd. A huge range of pastries and cakes are made on the premises and helps to add to the homely old world feel synonymous with Launceston . Good value and great service help round out a cafe experience as good as weve experienced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Three visits in two days - I think that says I was happy here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Last weekend I attended a workshop at which dinner was not provided. This cafe was nearby and I ended up here for pure convenience the first time I visited.

But I was comfortable and able to sit on a couch rather than a table and chairs - which I loved.

Service for lunch on the first day and breakfast on the second day was excellent but I was kept waiting a long time for takeaway lunch on the second day (for the other two meals, I ate in).

It is a great place for a solo diner, with lots of different newspapers provided and stored very tidily.

The food is displayed very well indeed and menu items were certainly attractively described as well as clearly shown in the refrigerated cabinets.

The place was busy busy for all three meals that I was present for -- on the Sunday morning lots of cyclists were dining and I was interested to see that some were wearing lycra bearing the name of AROMAS.

Three spaces for dining were available, one on the street and two rooms inside, but there was another outside space not in use on the weekend I was visiting.

Well done to most staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best cafe food we have had for a long time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited here recently and this place has superb cafe food. Reasonably priced with good service, good coffee. Strong mediterranena influence this place was a great find and is truly a quality cafe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank just_for_fun_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aromas Cafe also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Aromas Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing