We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room and Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Areca Boutique Hotel

Areca Boutique Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Areca Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

If it's hospitality and good breakfast you're after then Areca has it all. The Hotel is small and unique with beautiful views of Laiunceston. The breakfast WOW , plent plenty plenty. Good quality and theservice was top class. Janine and Martin you are top notch. Ukie your hotel is just lovely, thank you for your care and attentiveness. The only negatie I have is the high grade of the lane that one needs to walk up and down to get to the roadway. I think I lost 3kils and have tightened the muscles in my lower legs. Overal great location and wonderful service, room and breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car as the lane beside the hotel is VERY steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I'mThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
16
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Areca Boutique Hotel, is part of "Waratah On York" B&B in York Street Launceston (off Weymouth Street). Areca is the new building, only about 12 months old - therefore all rooms & fixtures & fittings are new and in good condition. Having been to Launceston on Business several times over the last 8-9 months I have now made Areca my base each time I stay. Very friendly owners ! Reasonable accommodation costs ! Delightful Breakfast cooked or cold served by Michael & staff. Light & airy breakfast dining room. Parking is a little tight, due to hilly location, but more carparks are available under the building. Plenty of hot water, good showers and a comfy bed. I am very happy to recommend Areca. Breakfast is included in the Tariff. Be sure to book early as it is now often booked out !! Vending machines available for soft drinks etc., tea, coffee & free WiFi available in the room.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room or a spa bath you will need to book a Waratah on York suite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freo aussie
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great rooms, great friendly staff & fantastic breakfast. Loved the location, had to use York Street as the hill was oh, so steep. The owners chinese retaurant is great food too. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior king, more spacious even though we were overlooking other properties, loved the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfreoaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I booked this hotel through wotif for a planned trip to Launceston. I was no longer able to fly and had to cancel 10 days of hotels, car hire and flights. Every other hotel offered refunds or little fee for cancellation however when I expressed my need to cancel with this hotel 2 weeks ahead, they did not even respond. One week on, I sent another request for them to respond and still none. It really bothers me how hotels like this make money out of "no cancellation" policies, and take hundreds of dollars without giving anything back! They should not be in business.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

great little property, very personal and genuine king beds are a proper king (not 2 singles zippered together with that horrible ridge) great showers. would like to see a compendium in the rooms. free wifi, breakfast and free parking. all bonuses
why launceston hotels charge guests to park thir cars I dont understand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked through wotif, got given a queen bed room when we booked a king bed. Let them know this and was questioned whether or not this was the case. Showed them our email as proof of booking. Got given a king bed room which was unmade. Had to amuse ourselves while the room was made up (15 mins, how clean can a room be in this amount of time?). A4 paper taped over a narrow window in the room. Noisy in morning due to breakfast in the dining room which all the rooms are built around. Comfy bed and handy location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KerryDamien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Areca is a delightful new hotel which is ideally located for visiting Launceston. It is has a relatively modern boutique look although the antique furniture looks somewhat out of place. The rooms are clean and of a reasonable size. Facilities are adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was good and parking available. Overall, a pleasant hotel with no negatives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
1.0 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Boutique Hotel

Property: Areca Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Areca Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Areca Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Boutique Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing