We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden gem”

Areca Boutique Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Areca Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

great little property, very personal and genuine king beds are a proper king (not 2 singles zippered together with that horrible ridge) great showers. would like to see a compendium in the rooms. free wifi, breakfast and free parking. all bonuses
why launceston hotels charge guests to park thir cars I dont understand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billycoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
23
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked through wotif, got given a queen bed room when we booked a king bed. Let them know this and was questioned whether or not this was the case. Showed them our email as proof of booking. Got given a king bed room which was unmade. Had to amuse ourselves while the room was made up (15 mins, how clean can a room be in this amount of time?). A4 paper taped over a narrow window in the room. Noisy in morning due to breakfast in the dining room which all the rooms are built around. Comfy bed and handy location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KerryDamien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Areca is a delightful new hotel which is ideally located for visiting Launceston. It is has a relatively modern boutique look although the antique furniture looks somewhat out of place. The rooms are clean and of a reasonable size. Facilities are adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was good and parking available. Overall, a pleasant hotel with no negatives.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was amazed at someone giving this place 5stars. on the plus side the breakfast was excellent, the staff helpful and polite the furnishings clearly new and of good quality. On the other side--- no drawers in the bedroom,no place to put your suitcase--- totally empty fridge. No cold water! But the bathroom !!! this contained a toilet ,small towel rail and no place at all to put ones toiletries.The shower was good but no facility for putting ones shampoo. Having just come from the most amazing 41/2 star place in the Huan Valley I really wonder by what standard the "star"rating is applied.Anne P

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markpeachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We found areca by booking.com. The best night sleep we have had on our trip. Rooms are well furnished and quiet. Value for money a big tick. Staff were very friendly and they made you feel like you were most welcome. Unlike other motels/hotels we have stayed in. Yes we will be back. Big thankyou

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located at the north/east end of York st and has an elevated location overlooking north Launceston. Plenty of off street parking.
It is convenient to restaurants, shopping areas and a short drive to the Seaport district.
The hotel is very very new - it was completed in Feb 2012.
So The rooms are very comfortable and very clean, with marble and slate bathrooms.
The bed is one of the most comfortable I have slept in a hotel.
Another plus is that the beds are equipped with a doona/quilt. I have never stayed in a property which provides a doona but let me tell you it was the best nights sleep away from home.
I hope this hotel maintains its high standards and I will be judging other hotels by this one.
If you are looking for accommodation in the area do yourself a favor - book this place.
This hotel is excellent value (wotif special) and I recommend it highly.

Some very minor quibbles:
I found this hotel difficult to locate - the trick is its located in the laneway next to "waratah on York".
This is a two story property but there is no lift so just something to be aware of if you need to lug around heavy bags.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Unfortunately we only stayed one night, we could have stayed there for many more. Our room was very comfortable, including an excellent bed. The facilities were all excellent. The hotel is very quiet and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to a return visit, hopefully not that far away. If only all accommodation was of this standard.

Margie B

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.3 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#21 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Areca Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Areca Boutique Hotel

Property: Areca Boutique Hotel
Address: 12 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Areca Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Areca Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Areca Boutique Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing