We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a good bottle of wine, gets better with age + a/c” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Bundaberg Qld
1 review
“Like a good bottle of wine, gets better with age + a/c”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

We had six nights here, spotless room, compfy beds, excellent amenities, excellent friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful restaurant and prices comparable with other hotel meals and a lovely bar area. Air conditioning, which when I was looking for accommodation and wanting a great price deal, other establishments did not have. Don't think you don't need air conditioniing, believe me you do. The best rates in town. Located close to CBD and the park accross from Sandors is just beautiful, even has monkeys in an enclosure that you could watch playing for ages. Heaps of offstreet parking and no road noise. Best we found during our Tassie holiday. The elevator was a huge plus. Older style but don't let that deter you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fulloffun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    169
    106
    55
    36
See reviews for
58
178
36
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

This hotel is nicer than it looks from the outside. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and if you are lucky enough you may get a room that overlooks the park. A car park is also available which is a real bonus. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

We booked a room from the accommodation board at the Launceston Airport for two nights. We travelled to the motel by the airport shuttle, as it is alot cheaper than a taxi. A taxi costs about $35.00, but with airport shuttle is was $24.00 for the us of us.
On arriving at the motel, the reception staff was so polite, cheerful and we felt very welcomed. Our room was clean, comfortable and had all the necessities for a pleasant stay. It even had a mini bar that didn't cost the earth, so we enjoyed a bottle of red wine and ordered a cheese platter from room service at a cost of $15.00. $15.00 for a cheese platter at the time we thought was alittle expensive, but it was worth every cent. Tasmanian cheeses presented beautifully and more than enough for the two of us. We highly recommend.
The cafe at the motel needs our recommendation. The menu seems alittle expensive at first. I had the the chicken at $26.00, but what a meal! A fresh chicken breast, topped with seafood and a cream sauce, with vegetables. My husband had the eye fillet at $28.00. It was cooked to perfection and was so tender. Our both meals were large and beautifully presented. Our waitress was friendly and the service was great. If you go to Launceston and do not stay at Sandor's, at least go to their Cafe. By this time you might need to make a booking, as we are sure it would be one of the best eating places in Launceston. Give it a try!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 15grandview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

This place is so and so. We were tired and on our way to Freycinet so we stopped at Sandor's just to spend the night. Our room was ok, a bit on the old side. What I liked were the soap, shampoo, conditioner dispensers, convenient and environment friendly. The hallways and a gate by the reception they lock at night looked a bit depressing. But it's OK to just stay the night.
Good thing is that it's walking distance to restaurants, and we had dinner at Black Cow, a great restaurant were we had the best steak in Tasmania, delicious, and not to be missed (the restaurant, not the motel...!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myosotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
205 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This place is well located and only a 3-5 minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

Check in was friendly and informative and the room rate for a queen size bed was $99. We had not booked in advance.

Although our room was facing the street and we were on level two there was no street noise as the windows were double glazed. The room with carpets and furniture is getting a little tired as is the motel but it presents well overall. It has air conditioning and we had to use this as the room got a little stuffy during the night although we had the option of opening a window. Carpets in our room can probably last for another 12 months but after I would say hasta la vista baby.....

The bed was large and we slept well- linen was clean as was the room and bathroom.

A big plus is a winter check out at 11 am this allows you to wander down to the shops for a leisurely breakfast- which we did and found a great place for bacon eggs and sausages and tea/cofee (Missy's down the end of a small arcade).

The motel has a good and well priced restaurant and we had a great slow cooked duck($24.50) and a roast of the day (18.50)- Presentation was excellent and plenty of well steamed vegetables although the roast potatoes were from the bain marie but still nice. Our meal was worthy of an 8/10 score. Wine was well priced and not marked up too much.

The motel is popular with families and touring groups and there is plenty of free parking at the motel on a range of levels at the rear of the motel. We enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rovingrabbit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2009

When I first saw the architecture of the motel, I fretted and wished I had booked a more expensive room, especially since the window could not be opened. However, after I gave it a try, my stay here was actually cosy. There was a modern aircon in the room that I could turn on all night long on cold winter nights. But the bathroom was very cold due to a small opening. Amenities include shaving cream, shampoo and conditioner, and also body lotion. I really liked the handwash gel but the shower gel was just too strong for me. At first not sure about the bed but turned out I slept like a log. There were 3 movie channels. The minibar was well stocked and the prices reasonable. The area was relatively quiet except when guests were arriving from the carpark or leaving early in the morning. Dinner was expensive for a motel, ranged from $20-$30 for main courses. However it was truly delicious. If you visited, must give the restaurant a try. I did not find anything special with the staff though (most were elderly). I thought they were rather awkward to me. I did not like the location which was 15 minute walk from the shopping centre and bus terminal. It was too far a walk to Cataract Gorge and there was nothing special with the city park view.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milonotovaltine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

I have stayed here a few times and have always found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Its clean and its comfortable. Its over the road from City Park and there are plenty of things to see and do. The highlight being Cataract Gorge. There is not much of a gay scene in town but the hotel staff were able to give me a few places worth checking.
Breakfast is actually good. I hope they watch the rates though as its getting very expensive. The breakfast ladies are a hoot. They are bubbly and really old world charm.
I must say the staff are outstanding and will go to no end of trouble. They can arrange trips and tours. I wanted to see the Tas Devils and they made sure I did not have to drive (which I hate) and a van met me at hotel.
Only jarring note which I notice quite often in Tasmania. Frequently things are not available from menu and dinner closing early at times. In a hotel one should be able to get a meal any ime. You get that in the most average hotel over seas.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.3 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Property: Hotel Launceston
Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing