We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“104 is fine by me!”
Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Tuesday night quite by mistake. I won't bore you with the how's and whys it's a long story!
Just the same we (a couple of mates) stayed here. Two singles in the room, $115 a night. We found the room clean and tidy with comfy single beds.
Good ac and a decent flat screen telly.
Recently renovated by the look of the reception area and also the bar and restaurant area too. The room we stayed is also looked spruced up.
If I had of reAd the previous negative reviews I may not have stayed here.
Luckily I didn't as I found this place fine for what we needed, a feed, a few cold beers and a room to crash in.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank rod g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post your review of Hotel Launceston. Whatever the circumstances were that led you to stay with us, it's great that we were able to satisfy your accommodation needs by offering good value, clean and well presented rooms. We hope to see you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 468 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a budget hotel, it is a little out of the town but easy walking distance and near a park that has monkeys in it. It looks old but was generally clean, the tv, shower were ok.
From initial impressions it all seemed reasonable

But we returned for an early night, it was an ominous sign that there were drunk people in the hotel foyer at 2130. There is what sounds like a night club on the bottom floor of this hotel with music till midnight (the music is not good and the sound level inconsistent for example one song around 2330 was so loud it made me jump). The worse aspect is that there is an outside seating area under the room windows, there is almost no sound proofing and therefore can hear people shout and scream, getting drunker and louder as the night progressed. Even though the windows were shut we could still smell cigarette smoke in our room.

Music stopped at midnight but this was followed by what can only be described as two mini riots "I will fight any one", it was not till 1am that people had left the area.

I do not believe an old hotel should have a night club attached if it does not even attempt to sound proof. I unfortunately did not read tripadvisor before making the booking and booked through an agent who did not mention a sound warning, when we collected the keys there was no warning of the noise that would come, I also re read our brochure (which had the old hotel name) and this was not mentioned.

Room Tip: Don't book on a night the bar is open
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Gibbo3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, General Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Hotel Launceston. I am disappointed that your stay did not go as planned and that noise was an issue. As a rule, guests are always informed when we have functions running over the weekends. The majority of hotel rooms are not affected by noise from the bar or function areas and an opportunity is given to guests upon check in to move rooms if we feel that they may be affected by noise levels from the function area. It is regrettable if this was not the case in your situation. Functions are always completed by 11.45pm at the latest.

In many cases it is not possible to inform guests prior to arrival as booking agents generally do not provide guest contact details. We make every effort to minimise excessive noise, but being located in central Launceston, unfortunately, we cannot always control external noise from the general public passing by the hotel late at night. it is my understanding that on the night in question that guests attending the function were not involved in the altercation further down the street.

Please be assured that we take these issues very seriously and we take every effort to minimise such disturbances in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for one night and boy was I glad. The hotel room is old with old dirty-looking carpet, old fixtures. The cabinets squeaked and not the paint is old. The beds and air-conditioning are generally ok. The rooms badly need to be renovated like its exterior. The location and price are not bad at all though. So overall I'm not really complaining but wouldn't stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ciara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great friendly helpful staff! Good location, a few minutes walk to get in to city centre. Clean room. Modern reception and what we could see of the restaurant. Good value.

It said on the booking site that reservation of parking a vehicle didn't need to be made. But when we got there we were lucky to get the last (small) parking lot that was left.

Very noisy the whole night from other guests - it was New Years eve, but still.

Overall a good affordable place to stay when in Launceston.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnaPaulsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel however we did come to the Titanium bar for lunch on a Sunday. The food was delicious! Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Launceston and wanting somewhere open on a sunday

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank reneericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

stayed at the hotel and it looked ok from the out side but when i got in to my room that was another eye opener the wine glasses, mugs and also the drinking glasses was dirty still also found that the room was not vacuumed properly as i found toe nails still on the floor and a half drank bottle of pepis just under the bed, also the mirrors was not clean either , finger prints and marks on them.
i might just be picky but when i am paying $140 a night i expect better

p.s mini bar is a tad expensive

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Paid $140 for a night. Extremely noisy hotel. Had to change from 4 person room to 3 person room to move to less noisy room but no refund though the receptionist said I could take two small rooms but how come if I had two small kids. The new room is so small and no air con remote control. Poor quality and expensive hotel. Hotel guests still ran and made noise until mid night. The hotel is the worst hotel in Australia I've stayed. Should not stay.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Tran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#21 of 30 in Launceston
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Commodore Regent
Commodore Regent
#22 of 30 in Launceston
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $71 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing