We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So noisy hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Launceston
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“So noisy hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Paid $140 for a night. Extremely noisy hotel. Had to change from 4 person room to 3 person room to move to less noisy room but no refund though the receptionist said I could take two small rooms but how come if I had two small kids. The new room is so small and no air con remote control. Poor quality and expensive hotel. Hotel guests still ran and made noise until mid night. The hotel is the worst hotel in Australia I've stayed. Should not stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Tran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    169
    110
    55
    36
See reviews for
58
181
36
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a Tasmania trip. We were given a room in the back section (behind the hotel proper) but the receptionist offered us a move to a room in the main building if we wanted to, saying they were more modern but noisier. We stayed in the original room as it was clean and comfortable, and we wanted quiet if possible! While it was older in style, it was clean and comfortable; the shower was excellent and the bed very comfortable, with spotless white linen. Extra pillows and blanket in the cupboard made for a good sleep. Good location, easy to walk to Launceston's attractions and central city area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We recently hosted an event with Hotel Launceston, with the entire group staying on site.
Firstly, the staff were simply amazing and incredibly helpful in arranging our event and group bookings. During our stay we had several functions and meals in the Titanium Bar and Bistro and all were delicious. I highly recommend the Pork Belly and Salmon!
The functions were all well run with a great variety of food offered at an affordable price as buffet options. The rooms on site were clean, comfortable and adequately furnished. The rooms with a veiw of the park were just lovely.
In addition to how welcome we felt during our stay, the hotel is also placed conveniently on the fringe of the CBD. An easy 5 minute walk sees you right in the heart of Launceston, with the hotel itself placed directly across from the City Gardens.
I cannot recommend Hotel Launceston and their staff enough for all of their help with our event, and their amazing 'can do' attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puddle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorBornIslandBound, General Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We were more than happy to welcome and assist your group during your stay. We are pleased you found the service delightful and are glad to hear the positive feedback. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We do have a fantastic team and all of us aim to provide a level of service above and beyond what is expected. Thank you again, and we would be happy to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recently travelled to Tasmania on group trip and decided to return after the event as a solo traveller. The rooms were large, clean and quiet (I paid a little more for a room with a view to the park). Staff members were helpful, attentive, and polite. They were accommodating with my requests and went above and beyond what would seem reasonable. Yes, the exterior is a little dated, but for a cosy room, proximity to the City and the helpful staff, I'd highly recommend staying here. I've stayed in worse places in Tasmania and for the price point, you do exceptionally well.

Room Tip: Book the rooms on the top floor that over look the park. A little more money but worth it for the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here as part of our Car Club Tour of Tassy

Close to CBD easy walk 10-15Min , and across from a large park, room was OK , ours had a small balcony looking into the car park ( centre of Hotel ) a bit pricy for what it was, especially when we were charged an extra $35 a night for our granddaughter , other hotels we stayed in did not charge any extra. It has a bar area which is open every night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSWSTEAMPOWER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turners Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel Launceston provided our event with the most amazing hospitality and the staff were so kind to attend to our every need. We had several dinners in their well equipped function rooms including a hot buffet breakfast that provided variety and delicious food of a high quality. Our final dinner buffet was amazing and thoroughly enjoyed by all. I would highly recommend this venue to any guest travelling to Launceston. Close to the CBD. Clean rooms and crisp, clean linen. Beautiful park views. Friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble. Awesome food - great hotel. Thanks so much for having us. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warrkarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorBornIslandBound, General Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Hotel Launceston and were able to enjoy the bar, bistro, and hospitality, as well as the accommodation.

We have been busy renovating and improving our offerings to our guests over the last 12 months and always strive to provide service above and beyond expectations.

I will pass your comments on to our team members whom will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Hotel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is overlooking City Park and easy to walk to all CBD attractions - shopping, cafes, art galleries, design centre and local brewery etc.

The main areas have been renovated and have a rather edgy feel - the room I had was not renovated but still very good.

Mini bar was well stocked and room was very clean and had all the usual items.

There is a nice bistro/bar area - I did not go there but several guests were there looking to be having a good time. A nicely balanced mix of things on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorBornIslandBound, General Manager at Hotel Launceston, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us at Hotel Launceston.

We have been busy renovating and improving our offerings to our guests over the last 12 months, with particular focus on the bar, bistro and function centre at this stage. We are planning room renovations over the coming winter months. We are pleased to hear you like the new vibe in the bar and bistro.

We always strive to provide service above and beyond expectations - I will pass your comments on to our team members whom will be delighted.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at some stage in the future.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Hotel Launceston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.0 mi away
Mercure Launceston
Mercure Launceston
#24 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#19 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Launceston

Property: Hotel Launceston
Address: 3 Brisbane St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia (Formerly Mercure Launceston)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Launceston is a dual listed property and is housed within the Mercure Launceston located in Brisbane Street overlooking the leafy City Park. The property is signed Mercure Launceston and its base in the city centre is perfect for business or leisure. The city mall, restaurant precinct, Cataract George, Boag’s Brewery, river cruise terminal, tourist information centre, and other attractions are all a short walk away; or explore the Tamar Valley Wine Route and Northern Tasmania. A dual-branded hotel, Hotel Launceston offers economy and standard rooms for the budget conscious traveller, whilst the Mercure Launceston offers refurbished Superior and Privilege Rooms which can be booked via the Hotels other listing; Mercure Launceston or you may wish to pay for an upgrade on arrival, subject to availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing