We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Club Tasmania
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Country retreat”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A lovely place in a beautiful setting away from the tar & cement of the city yet only minutes away if you need to shop.The wildlife that come into the gardens are just beautiful. Great range of restaurants to suit all budgets.
The Golf View room was spacious with beautiful views and a balcony to have your cuppa outside. The bed was amazingly comfy and to top it off the bath is very deep and also a spa.
Fantastic value.

Room Tip: Ask for the Golf View room - is bigger and great view. Worth paying a little more for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Roz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    277
    72
    16
    16
See reviews for
114
356
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The accomadation is very good as is the Terrace Restraunt (when it is actually open) do not bother with the other eating establishments.
Be prepared for a long hike from the casino car park to the accommodation. In fact it is so far you need to pack a lunch.
This is a great property but there are better options if you will be using you car often or you would like it more securely parked than with the casino patrons.

Room Tip: Suites are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Red R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubTas, Manager at Country Club Tasmania, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to dine in The Terrace Restaurant, Tasmania’s most awarded restaurant, which is open for dinner Monday – Saturday from 6pm during your stay at Country Club Tasmania. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your experience. Country Club Tasmania does offer a Valet Parking service for our hotel guests, along with guests dining in The Terrace, with vehicles taken care of in a secure area. This service is complimentary, available 24 hours a day for your convenience and can be arranged through our Guests Services team. Thank you for choosing to stay at Country Club Tasmania, and for providing feedback in relation to your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The rooms are a little tired and even though they were meant to be non-smoking, they smelt musty and need updating.
The catered meal on Saturday night left a lot to be desired but the staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhilipLittlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Upon arrival the hotel looks impressive. The rooms are nicely appointed but unfortunately a little stuffy and the spa bath in my room started throughout the night for no reason waking me. The breakfast was at best ordinary but I do have to commend the restaurant up stairs which is exceptional.

I was attending a conference at the Hotel and the hotel's efforts in this area were also lacking, no water on conference tables when we started and food arriving late.

But the thing that really was poor was when we were trying to leave, taxis were not called when required and when I became concerned that we would miss our plane I requested the country club mini-bus and was informed that it did not travel to the Launceston airport. Yet it did take the flight crew to the airport.

The reception staff were unhelpful and bordering on aggressive .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryClubTas, Manager at Country Club Tasmania, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a review for Country Club Tasmania. We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our buffet breakfast service but glad that you had the opportunity to have an exceptional meal at the Terrace, Tasmania’s most awarded restaurant during your stay with us. We will bring to the attention of our conference department your comments about the service levels you experienced. An airport shuttle service is available from our hotel, when you next stay with us please advise our Guest Services department of your flight departure time and they will be able to arrange this in advance on your behalf. We appreciate your comments, thanks again for placing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Treated a couple of friends to a Thank You trip to Tassie and had 3 days in Launceston: so booked this place: Normally I'd go much cheaper when on my own BUT as it was a treat I thought go for it:)

Absolutely BRILLIANT and at a very reasonable price;

Enough room for 3 of us to share self contained room and besides the kitchen used the BBQ facilities;. Loved the whole place and its location; had a hire car which suited us as we were able to drive into Launceston but also get out and about and road trip.

Clean, spaceous, tidy, warm:)

would definitely comeback

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restless59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have been to Launceston four times in the past year, and with the exception of one late notice trip (it was booked out) we stayed at Country Club each time.

As always, the accommodation is excellent. The rooms are brilliantly appointed, the service is always friendly and efficient and the services are as you would expect of a property of this class. The Manor Suites are incredibly comfortable, roomy and reasonably priced for the quality.

If I was to have one suggestion as to an improvement, it would be the furnishing of the room. Given that the Manor Suite is obviously designed (at least in part) with couples in mind, a comfortable two-person couch (rather than the three(!?) single, uncomfortable armchairs) would allow for a far more relaxing, romantic couple's retreat setting.

Overall, though, I would not hesitate to recommend the property and will certainly be returning in the future.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a few different rooms, and all were good. Rooms on the golf course wing probably h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andyography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Country Club Tasmania, it was very restful, plenty of places to eat, places to walk and not too far from Launceston. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the rooms were spacious, clean and well catered for.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the Golf course, a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
4.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,383 reviews
3.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
3.8 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Tasmania

Property: Country Club Tasmania
Address: Country Club Avenue | Prospect Vale, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Country Club Tasmania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Club Tasmania is located amongst over 20 acres of native bushland within the picturesque Tamar Valley yet only 10 minute drive from Launceston's CBD and the airport. The hotel is Launceston's premier choice for holiday accommodation, dining and live entertainment and offers a variety of accommodation choices. Your stay will offer you the freedom to let loose, explore, and discover all that Northern Tasmania has to offer but when you're staying at a property with five restaurants and four bars showcasing gourmet Tasmanian produce, swimming pool, bike, walk and running tracks around the lake and beyond, 18 hole golf course, spa, sauna, tennis courts, natural therapy centre, squash, a boutique casino, horse riding and driving range, you may find yourself never wanting to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Club Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Tasmania
Country Hotel Launceston
Country Club Tasmania Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing