We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Club Tasmania
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel.”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed our time. Walking the long corridors to your room was an experience, such a grand hotel. Viewing the wallabies at dusk outside your room was memorable. The buffet was a let down for dinner but the breakfast was excellent. The casino was quiet and enjoyable and the grounds were immaculate. Well positioned with an easy drive into Launceston. The staff were more than helpful and the valet parking was a nice bonus. Would definitely stay at the Country Club again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor deluxe suite overlooking the golf course. Excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    279
    72
    16
    17
See reviews for
114
360
27
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights having booked 6 months ago. On arrival our luggage was sent to our room, our car valet parked and we were informed that a complimentary cold bottle of champagne and very generous cheese platter would be sent up to our room. This was most unexpected. Our room was very comfortable and clean and staff at all times extremely helpful. We dined in the Terrace Restaurant which exceeded our expectations. Overall our 2 nights were most enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Spoleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A Nice Hotel in Launceston, good value,Rooms are spacious, good size Bathroom, but do not like the bath Shower

The Hotel could use a bit of an up Date, but it is not tired, just needs modernizing

Food is also good, but room rate did not include breakfast this is a Bit strange for an International hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolamon, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights here, whilst there are a number of positives, such as casino (if you like to gamble) and three restaurants to choose from, plus tennis courts, a gym etc, the rooms really let the place down. If you are simply going on a golf and gambling trip and just need a place to lay your head, this will be great for you. When we visited however, my partner who is a golfer, said he wouldn't bother hiring clubs to play at the course because it was so dry and not in very good condition, and both of us not really enjoying wasting money in gaming rooms, we found ourselves either in launceston a fair bit or in our rooms.

The rooms, I am sure would have been rather opulent when first built but they are very dated now and the room we stayed in had a view of a dead garden and a road, the beds were terrible and neither of us could sleep for more than 45 mins at a time because we were tossing around trying to get comfortable. You could also hear the people in the next room going to the toilet, not very pleasant while you are trying to sleep.

If you do stay here though the Terrace restaurant, whilst pricey for what you get is divine and we enjoyed every mouthful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alisha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We go every year for our wedding anniversary and totally live the relaxation and tranquity. The only fault we can ever pick out of out overall stay every year is when we ring to have our car bought around, we seem to be sitting out the front in the sun waiting forever and twice now in 2 years we have had to go back in and ask where hour car was. They then got our keys and went to get our car. Apart from this room service and everything else was perfect

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

we booked in on 22nd feb went to our room then came back down to book for dinner the lady said they were full for first sitting so i booked for second as i was walking off another couple were asking about dinner i over heard the lady say 2 sittings so they said 6 oclock sitting so i went back up to the lady and she said i told u there were tables left she was very rude i think her name was lucy so i told her i just heard another couple we got the booking for 6 oclock no thanks to the rude lady i dont think i will be staying there again there is no need for rudeness it put a real downer on the night we is your manners lucy if thats not her name she was Irish or English

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tellytubby111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

After having a winning bid at a fund raising auction for charity we scored a trip on the TT Line Spirit of Tasmania return trip with car return, then we had to make a decision on accomodation and settled on the Country Club as our destination, we were looking only for a relaxing time with all facilities available and i must say we were not disappointed.The peace quiet and relaxing atmosphere and attentive staff could not have been better all facilities room,pool,grounds and restaurants were perfect especially The TERRACE Restaurant was excellent a wonderful menu and wine list with very attentive staff.We also had a flutter at the casino which was a good time had by us again staff were excellent and we have no hesatation in recommending the Country Club as a perfect place for relaxing weekend or longer stay especially if you are a golfer which we are not, it manages to cater for everyone and one of the great things is the wildlife around the place makes it so relaxing and peaceful and its just out of launceston and an easy drive in or taxi so all in all thank u tassi we will certainly be back and the cleanliness was well maintained all around the resort.

Room Tip: we found the ground floor room to be great as it opened out onto the grounds and allowed u to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EwhenandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
3.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
882 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,480 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.8 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
875 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Tasmania

Property: Country Club Tasmania
Address: Country Club Avenue | Prospect Vale, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Country Club Tasmania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Club Tasmania is located amongst over 20 acres of native bushland within the picturesque Tamar Valley yet only 10 minute drive from Launceston's CBD and the airport. The hotel is Launceston's premier choice for holiday accommodation, dining and live entertainment and offers a variety of accommodation choices. Your stay will offer you the freedom to let loose, explore, and discover all that Northern Tasmania has to offer but when you're staying at a property with five restaurants and four bars showcasing gourmet Tasmanian produce, swimming pool, bike, walk and running tracks around the lake and beyond, 18 hole golf course, spa, sauna, tennis courts, natural therapy centre, squash, a boutique casino, horse riding and driving range, you may find yourself never wanting to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Club Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Tasmania
Country Hotel Launceston
Country Club Tasmania Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing