We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romance awaits!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Club Tasmania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Club Tasmania
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romance awaits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Manor Suites are the perfect romantic getaway. Huge room, comfy bed and a bathroom to die for! The staff are very welcoming and helpful, from Concierge, Reception, Restaurant and House Keeping. From the moment you walk down the wide corridors flagged on each side by Chinese vases you feel like royalty! The perfect place to stay while in Launceston, cant wait to go back. Truly memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jayton_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    269
    72
    16
    16
See reviews for
112
344
25
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here on Monday in July and Thursday the same week. Two different rooms. The first on the ground level. Being a senior I found the lift facilities useful. Three levels to explore. Expansive yet, I found things were within a comfortable distance. I liked the relaxed feel to the guest sections. The staff were always friendly. I pick my timing to interrupt, with my requests and find my consideration is welcomed and rewarded. I was upgraded in some areas and found my own generosity to extend to the Terrace Restaurant. There is an earth quality to the rooms, with extensive use of timber and yet modern free wireless facilities were available. Very useful to the technology savvy. The time of year is cold, the rooms were not. The bath is deep, the ability to get in and out is needed. There is a hand rail above the bath that I found useful.
I will stay again, so as to enjoy the traditional hospitality. Thank you.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a desk. I found this useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a Manor Suite. The room itself was immaculate. The spa was huge and the five-jet shower was utter bliss. The separate bedroom was welcome as the wife generally retires a few hours before me. The bed was comfortable and a wide range of pillows is available from reception, so even the most discerning of us can find the right match.

The grounds and facilities are excellent. However, the service ranged from very good to non-existent. On arrival, my wife was left to struggle with a trolley full of bags while I parked the car, with no staff offering to assist. After check in, the reception staff didn't offer to have a porter take our bags to our room (which was a bit of a hike from reception), instead leaving us to take them. Not a critical thing, but not up to the usual service standards of a place of this quality.

The location is great, and overall we were very happy with our stay. If management finds the time to redefine their service standards they would have a property that would be the equal of any country club resort on the mainland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Country Club Casino has a beautifully welcoming ambience and is truly the best place to stay in Launceston. I've stayed with family 3 times to date and will return again soon. The moment we entered our suites we felt like we were "coming home"... you know, the home most of us would like to have where everything is perfect and spotless, yet exudes a warmth that envelopes you like a cosy blanket. So, my friends, here are the positives in greater detail: flat screen tv with dvd player in a roomy lounge with perfect adjustable lighting; fairly large balcony overlooking the immaculate golf course (you'll see wallabies, ducks, possums and the famous native hens - who always make me smile - strutting proudly); comfortable king bed in separate bedroom with another smaller tv; stunning black granite bathroom with 2 wash basins, huge shower with 5 jets and adjustable water temperature (yes, really), gorgeously deep, long spa bath; huge mirror and toilet. There is another separate toilet on entry to the suite for convenience. 24 hour room service and you can even choose from 4 different pillows free of charge. Staff are all exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional, and will make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. As a person who grew up traveling the world, I cannot stress the importance of good staff enough. The Country Club delivers on all fronts. Congratulations to management of this fine establishment as it's always a direct reflection of your expertise and discernment. On to the negatives: my only criticism is directed at a few guests. I was dismayed to see several cigarette butts carelessly tossed onto the lawn directly beneath the balconies. You're given a room/suite where you step out the door and can enjoy a cigarette without having to walk half a km to a designated "smoking area" and you can't use the ashtray? Not cool, guys. I highly recommend the Country Club, especially to fellow mainlanders (yes, we're all in love with Tassie). It is the perfect place to relax, unwind and allow yourself to be pampered.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the golf course have that special feel because of the stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Another nice stay at the country club. We have stayed many times and always stay there when we are in launceston. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Miss the toothbrush etc from the bathrooms. Upgraded to a suite on one occasion and found you still receive the toothbrush etc as well as many other extras as you would expect. We will continue to use this facility with meals when we visit our old home town.

Room Tip: Depending on how fit you are if needed ask for a close room to avoid long walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank onicahobartHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

As I have family in Tasmania and am an ex Tasmanian,my wife and I have been staying here for about 20 years on an average of twice a year for a week or more each time.The staff from the concierges,reception ,barstaff, gaming personnel and the housekeepers have got to know us and treat us like family.A great deal of the employees have been there for years and that in itself must say something about the establishment,It is a wonderful location with rooms on the golf course or overlooking magnificent manicured gardens,super quiet and we love walking around the lake and seeing all the wildlife.Meals are excellent in all restaurants and the Links Bar is a great catching up place.
About to book our next trip.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the indoor heated pool and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have stayed here several times -just love the use of timber & earthy colours used throughout this country club property-so warm and inviting. The room choice is excellent, all are spacious , clean & fresh & have all that you basically need. The amenities are second to none anywhere else in Tassie -golf course, tennis, horse riding, small pool & gym, squash courts & excellent eating venues from economical to silver service, plentiful parking, night time entertainment. Take a quiet stroll around the beautifully kept grounds & say hello to the wildlife! The staff are lovely! We can't fault anything about our stays - we thoroughly enjoy them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank luvlife007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
3.5 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
3.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Club Tasmania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Club Tasmania

Property: Country Club Tasmania
Address: Country Club Avenue | Prospect Vale, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
#6 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Country Club Tasmania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Club Tasmania is located amongst over 20 acres of native bushland within the picturesque Tamar Valley yet only 10 minute drive from Launceston's CBD and the airport. The hotel is Launceston's premier choice for holiday accommodation, dining and live entertainment and offers a variety of accommodation choices. Your stay will offer you the freedom to let loose, explore, and discover all that Northern Tasmania has to offer but when you're staying at a property with five restaurants and four bars showcasing gourmet Tasmanian produce, swimming pool, bike, walk and running tracks around the lake and beyond, 18 hole golf course, spa, sauna, tennis courts, natural therapy centre, squash, a boutique casino, horse riding and driving range, you may find yourself never wanting to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Club Tasmania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Tasmania
Country Hotel Launceston
Country Club Tasmania Launceston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing