We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Launceston Backpackers
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I came here without much expectations (after all, it was only $25/night). But to my surprise, it turned out to be a great stay. My traveling companions and I found the beds really comfortable and we slept very well during the 4 nights that we stayed. Blankets can be rented at 50 cents each. The toilets were extremely clean – dirty toilets are my biggest pet peeve when staying in hostels – so imagine how happy I was when I realised the toilets were nice and clean!

I also appreciate the fact that they had a huge kitchen available. Many people would cook their dinners there every night, and we never had to wait long to use the stoves. We also met a lovely elderly couple one night and had a great chat over dinner in the dining room.

Overall, it was one of the most pleasant hostel stays I've had. It's not a party hostel, so if you're looking for a young partying crowd, this isn't the place. I'd recommend this if you want a nice quiet environment to stay in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your review Catherine, the staff at Launceston Backpackers put a lot of effort into keeping the hostel clean and it is nice that you took time to make a comment about this on Tripadvisor. Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 180 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The overall facility was fine and the location, near to the heart of Launceston and walking distance to Cataract Gorge, made it easy to get out and about. it just wasn't a particularly friendly place to stay, personally I felt more like being away from there than being in the hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessieMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hello Jessie, thanks for your review. We do find that the dynamics of the hostel depend a lot on the mix of people staying. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Tasmania.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here for one night. The staff here was horrible and not friendly at all. It was a pleasant trip in Tasmania but we were disappointed then a male staff with glasses yelled and abused us. I was just confused, what was it for? The gate of the parking area close at around 9 or 9:30. What was wrong if we wanted to drive out for dinner at 8 because of safety concerns at night with three girls in our car? If you want to close the gate at 8, set the rule clearly stating that the gate close at 8 then. There is no point to set the time at 9 and then yell and abuse your customers for being out at 8. We were lucky cuz we just booked for ONLY ONE night. We booked launceston backpackers for its low price but money can never buy good moods. Won't stay there ANY MORE in my live!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel because it's price if you want to have a happy trip. Seriously
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanxuan0853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Hello Yanxuan, we are sorry for the incident you had in the car park. Our staff do not behave like this and we were interested in your point about the person wearing glasses. Only one of our staff wear glasses and he has not worked there for a few weeks. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay. The room, bathroom and Kitchen not just only clean but very organised. The place is quiet and worth it for the value. Near to the town. You can walk or drive around the town. Very convenient. Problem is no Free Wi-Fi. You have to paid.. Other is very good. Good service and manner as well. We lost our room key and the staff is very helpful and replace a new one for us. Thanks .. Great job...I suddenly will stay here again if we come back to Launceston again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello Brian L. thanks for taking time to give Launceston Backpackers your positive review. Yes we do charge for WiFi to help ensure we do not go above our monthly limit. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here just for 1 night before a trip of Tasmania. The property was very clean and conveniently located, i only met one of the managers but he was very informative and helpful. The kitchen facilities are some of the best ive seen in backpacker accommodation and kept very clean. Couldn't fault the place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your review Oliver, we do put a lot of effort into keeping our kitchen clean and tidy and it is nice you took the time to write a review mentioning this. Enjoy your Tasmanian trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff who were patient and informative. Clean linen, well presented & heated dorm in a terrific historic-looking building. Wow! Bathrooms clean and functional. Large TV room, great kitchen and big dining room too. Excellent location to town and The Gorge.
The staff, and this place, gives backpackers a good name. Why stay anywhere else. Very nice. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Book in advance. I wanted to stay an extra night but it was already booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thanks Peter M. for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Big rooms, clean, great facilities and in a fabulous spot. A park across the road to read in and great cafe on the other side of the park. What else do you need and for the price....great value. Thanks guys, a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod7313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Thanks for taking time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#21 of 30 in Launceston
557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Arthouse Hostel
Arthouse Hostel
#12 of 30 in Launceston
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel Motel
Riverside Hotel Motel
#1 of 2 in Riverside
204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamar River Villas
Tamar River Villas
#2 of 2 in Riverside
133 reviews
5.7 mi away
Red Feather Inn
Red Feather Inn
#1 of 1 in Hadspen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range: $20 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing