We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest backpackers stayed in tassie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Launceston Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Launceston Backpackers
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nicest backpackers stayed in tassie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Other owners take a tip from them on how they manage to keep a low cost but clean, orderly place with nice staff that show hey it's cheap but we won't make you sleep in a pit.
Well done launceston backpackers

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJPBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you SJPBerkshire for your positive review, we appreciate you taking the time to do this. Just after you left we began some painting renovations so hopefully the place looks even better next time you return. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
9
45
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad backpackers. Location is very good for the centre, easy to walk everywhere from here. Room had everything you would require. We had private double room, unsure what the dorms are like? The shower head is very small and not a lot of water comes out of it so took a bit of time to get all the shampoo out of my hair! I have read that the shower head is small because of charges from the council. The heating was something that annoyed me, it was on a timer and the heater was on the ceiling! I thought hot air rises?! You can't adjust the temp so if your cold you can't make it warmer or vice versa. We stayed in a lot of 'budget' accomodation whilst on our travels in Tasmania and never found such stringent rules over the heating. The heating I think came on at 7pm until 6am. Luckily for us it wasnt as cold as Launcestion usually gets in winter so we were only quite cold not very very cold. I understand bills are expensive, i have my own bills at home but to allow people to freeze in their rooms is unacceptable. I don't really feel the cold that often but I was freezing, especially when I got out of the shower. We had extra blankets on our bed which took the edge off the chill. Other than the heating issue overall not a bad backpackers.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Guest Relations Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review Deirdre. you mentioned the size of the shower heads. We installed these because Launceston Backpackers was environmentally assessed and one of the the recommendations was to install this type of shower head to save water and energy. You also mentioned the heating. The reason the heaters are on the ceiling is due to the Tasmanian Fire Departments recommendations. Heaters placed on a wall or free standing are a high fire risk because people can place items of clothing over them and Backpackers are the second highest fire risk business behind nightclubs. Free standing or wall heaters is also an issue which is addressed with insurance companies.
It is a good point you mentioned about not being able to turn the heating up or down and we are looking into this. Yes we do have the heaters on a timer, as you mentioned they come on at 7pm and go off at 6am. With Tasmania having close to the highest electricity tariffs in Australia this is done to only have the rooms heated during the evening and night when people are most likely to be using their room. The issue of heating does vary from person to person and we apologize for you feeling the cold. Again thank you for mentioning these points in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We've stayed in a few places in launceston but if we need some where we can settle down, get a good nights sleep and cook a proper meal this is the place.

If we want to party there some decent places attached to the pubs in town but launcestion backpackers gets our return cash.

Walking distance to everything, Coles just round the corner, an actual car park and a cool cat.

It's clean, warm for the price and the kitchen is well maintained.

Only down side are the showers.

The short spouts from the wall make it a little difficult if you're taller and can be a bit of a dance in winter to stay wet and warm.

Not sure if it's a water saving measure or that those heads are low/no work, but it does bring the place down a little.

There are hooks but the showers lack the normal little bench or a chair, even in the new section so be prepared with a bag you can put stuff in. (Plastic shopping bag works).

Overall a great hostel if you want somewhere quiet to do your own thing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you Brent for your kind review. You did mention the shower heads. Launceston Council now charge businesses for the amount of water they consume, they also charge us for the grey water we dispose of. These two charges have effectively doubled our already expensive rates bill. The shower heads were put in to reduce our water consumption. I do agree with your comments. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hostel was really clean and the manages were quite pleasant. The kitchen was always tidy.

However, since there is no central heating and the room heaters are on the ceiling, the rooms can get quite cold at night during winter.

Overall a good experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabramovici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hello Dabramovici, thanks for your review. Sorry you were cold during your stay. Each room has a heater and we give out as many blankets as people want, but everyone feels the cold differently. The other night I was working and people had their doors open because they were too hot so we had to turn the temperature down on the heat pump in their room. Safe traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night because all the hostels in Hobart were booked up for the Boxing Day races. We were greeted by a lovely receptionist who suggested some free things to do on our trip, such as the Launceston gorge which turned out to be spectacular. It was a bit of a trek from the town centre but nothing too bad. The room was of good size and very clean, the bathrooms a bit small but no real complaints. The kitchen area was great, immaculately clean and spacious, as was the dining area, with a lovely view of the park opposite. The building itself seemed very calm and open. As we were only in town for one night the no alcohol rule wasn't an issue, but I can see how it would grate with guests staying on a longer term.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you Mollyhills for your review. The alcohol policy is really directed at people who want to drink a lot and party. There are always a few people having a quiet drink with their meal or having a quiet drink on the veranda. It's when it goes beyond a quiet drink then we ask people to go to one of the nearby pubs. Thanks for your positive comment about the kitchen. The staff put a lot of effort into keeping it clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Whilst the hostel's amenities are ok, the manager is a control freak and rude. I stayed here on a tour a few weeks back and was verbally abused by the manager for drinking in the room. I wasn't aware of the 'no alcohol' policy so was quite surprised when a half crazed man knocked on the door and started abusing me and my friends for drinking. This was the first and only time he visited the room and we would have been much more receptive had he been more professional with his approach. We weren't being loud or drunken, just having a chat and a few beers. I offered a sincere apology, which he threw back in my face and accused me of being drunk and incoherent (I had had 2 beers) and was plainly rude. I wouldn't stay here unless you want to be tucked up in bed with a hot water bottle by 9pm. Go somewhere else where the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Owner at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Hello Louise, you mentioned in your review that you weren't aware that Launceston Backpackers is a non drinking hostel. We get on very well with the guides that were on your tour and they told the whole bus even before you arrived that we were a non drinking hostel. There are signs in your room and around the building mentioning the same thing. You mentioned that you were not being loud. Your group had 10 people in one of our dorms and the group was making that much noise that it could be heard from the managers flat who lives in a separate building away from the hostel. The manager even had a talk with the group drinking alcohol in the dining room, asking the group that if they want to party to go to one of the nearby pubs. The reason we are a non drinking hostel is because we are a large hostel and we find that people who want to drink and "party" cause a disturbance to other guests who are staying . The room next to where you had 10 in a room is our most expensive room and these customers had mentioned the noise level to the manager. We are not 'party poopers" as long as people are considerate and respectful towards other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Absolute putrid place dont stay here u will regret it they didnt even clean the room befor I booked in.poo on toilet walls and smelly boots in hallway.yucky unhygenic place to stay even got nits from bedding

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinyteddytonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Hello Tinyteddy. Your review does not reflect the way Launceston Backpackers operates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Property: Launceston Backpackers
Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing