We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant every time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Launceston Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Launceston Backpackers
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here every time I come to Launceston and cannot fault it. It is very quiet, yet close to town. The lady upon check in good value - she is hilarious! I would never stay anywhere else in Launceston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thehaylinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad you enjoy your stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
9
45
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my first stay in a hostel and it far exceeded my expectations. I stayed for 6 nights in a single room by my myself. The single room is quite large and could easily fit two people, equipped with a single bed, a wardrobe and a chair. The bathrooms are clean and no problem with hot water or shower pressure.

The hostel has very friendly staff and a cat Fuji who happily roams around. The kitchen is large and very well equipped with a dining room and areas outside to sit and eat. Coles is also a 2 minute walk away and about a 15 minute walk to Launceston's main tourist attraction: Cateract Gorge.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Public Relations Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you Elle E. for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers. We are happy that you enjoyed your first stay in a backpackers. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay, great environment and good value. Kitchen and bathrooms were all really good, very easy going . 5 min walk from city centre, transport very close. Management always on call. Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spankdizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
The staff at Launceston Backpackers really appreciate your positive review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights 24-26 Dec in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was spacious, yes it was basic but had a very comfy bed. It has a free parking, we parked at the same side with the hotel lobby, as the gate there is always open. The other parking place which located just beside the hostel closed at 9 pm if I am not mistaken.

We sent email to the hotel telling them that we might come late on the Christmas eve. They had arranged the self check in for us. The staffs were so helpful. But as we canceled our trip that day, we managed to arrive at 3 pm and met the hostel staff.

Although not very central, it's in a walking distance to the shopping district (about 10 mins walking). And as we got our own car, it wasn't a problem at all. It's also close to the Cataract George Reservoir, a must visit place if you visit Launceston.

Having Coles nearby was a plus and also huge and clean kitchen:) If you are looking for a hostel in Launceston, I would recommend Launceston Backpackers Hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tesyasblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Launceston Backpackers.
Enjoy the rest of your stay in Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been here for five days and love it. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the kitchen is huge. It's close enought to everything in town but not so close that all you hear at night is the night life. Coles is basically across the street and there is a great park out front. I hope I find more hostels like this along my travels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, General Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you Joshua for taking time to write a review about Launceston Backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location is very good, coles is nearby for self-caters and a green playground is just outside of the hostel. It's a nice place to stay considering it is clean and well managed. However one suggestion for the management team is that window screens need to be installed otherwise customers will either be annoyed by the mosquito or suffer from the hot weather in summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanlin_1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Guest Relations Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have noted what you said about the screens on the windows. We did have screens once and over time they all were damaged so we removed them. If we note any customers mentioning mosquitoes we will look at replacing screens on windows. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Basic accommodation. We were here 2 nights and only needed a place to sleep because we spent most of our time outside the room.

We were allocated a room near to the emergency exit so the window was placed pretty oddly (no complaints, just something of note). Our room was rather big for two, albeit empty, and heater wasn't working.

Young man at the reception was very nice and all my correspondence with him was always answered promptly. He offered to store our bags before check-in time.

Try the adjacent chinese restaurant, decent food.

Location was very good, we could arrange a pick-up to Cradle Mountain next morning from Tours Tasmania.

I must say the toilets were mostly empty and clean, though on our second day, the one on or floor was under maintenance and we had to go downstairs. But clean and empty nevertheless, didn't have to wait!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank triciaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derek l, Front Office Manager at Launceston Backpackers, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Trish, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Launceston Backpackers. You mentioned Cradle Mountain. All Cradle tours will pick up customers from Launceston Backpackers. We have our own tour bus which runs to Cradle Mountain....this business is called Walks on the Wildside. The heaters you mentioned are actually turned off during the summer months. Thank you for your positive comment about the cleanliness of the bathrooms and rooms. Safe travelling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.7 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#18 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Launceston Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Launceston Backpackers

Property: Launceston Backpackers
Address: 103 Canning St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Launceston Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launceston Backpackers is a one hundred year old Victorian building. It has 30 rooms, including double ensuite, doubles, singles, triples and dormitory rooms. It has a large commercial kitchen, large TV room and separate dining room. There is a free car park. Launceston Backpackers has a modern fire protection system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Launceston Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Launceston Backpackers Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing