We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Launceston Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$153
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$97
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$83
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$124
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auldington(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$81
$72
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
51
73
36
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
73
36
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale dormsleeping bagan en suite roomcoles supermarketlarge kitchenshort or long stayroom keyclean tidygreat place to stayquiet at nightwithin walking distancefree wifiold houseoverland trackliving areacity centrereception staff
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 189 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed here on two occasions, in November 2010 and March 2011 for about 2 weeks in total. Our stay was comfortable and we will stay again. The kitchen was clean with plenty of room.The staff was very helpful. We were able to book tours and get picked up and dropped off at the hostel. Tour and public buses stop at the corner. During our stays, the crowd was mellow and there was no noise at night. We stayed in a couple of double rooms and the double ensuite and we will gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1totravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

While the staff their are quite friendly, that would have to be the only positive about the place.

The rooms are average at best. The carpet is threadbare, the mattress was thin, and the bunks are old and rickety. There was no heater in the dorms, and when staying in a brick walled room it got very very cold.

The dining area was sufficient, however the lounge area was dark and dreary and the couches smelt like someone had died on them.

The Kitchen was the biggest problem. Although it was large in size, it wasn't sufficiently equipped. For my entire stay, there was only one double frige, the other was out of order. This was a terrible experience when the hostel was full. Hardly any kitchen utensils, in fact, you would find more pots pans etc in a kitchen started pack from a homewares shop. There was a major ant problem while I was there. Ants all over the chopping boards, in the cupboards, making their way across the entire Kitchen. The manager's response to my concern was, "ahh nature". The ants were there the night arrived and the morning I left.

The pet cat while amusing to watch (it is a fat cat) has free range over the place and you will find him in the kitchen, or roaming the halls. I like cats, but not when Im trying to cook and it is malting its fur!

NO INTERNET! No computers, no wifi, nothing. There was an empty desk with a sign that brand new computers and wifi access would be coming on Monday, the problem was, the sign was dated over a month and a half prior to my stay.

I stayed here only because it was recommended to me in an email by the people I was going to Launceston to see for location to them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPgeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Launceston Backpackers is in a lovely big house and all the communal rooms are a really good size. Our 4 dorm room was huge and there was plenty of space although no storage whatsoever. The staff were friendly and the hostel cat adds something nice to the place. However, the place for some reason was absolutely freezing. 50 cents gets you two blankets but even with them, I was cold and ended up sleeping in my clothes because there was no heating in the room. The toilets and showers were ok although 3 showers and 2 toilets is nowhere near enough for the number of dorm rooms.

The kitchen was very large and was well equipped and the TV room had comfy sofas and massive TV. Reception have a large number of current DVD’s available to hire which makes a good option on quiet evenings.

The location of the hostel is good and it is in a quiet area but still very close to the main part of the town (about a 10 minute walk). It is a no drinking hostel so although you can drink with a meal, they discourage guests from partying in the hostel which means that you are almost guaranteed a good nights sleep.

If you are on a budget then this is a good base but if you go in the cooler months, wrap up warm!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a heater!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Very helpful staff. Pointed out all areas of interest and suggested some nice restaurants.

The rooms are okay for the money. We went during the winter and I was expecting to get frozen but the heaters kept us nice and warm. The bathrooms are a little dirty though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed here for several days and plan to return. It was a great base in Launceston. We were able to book our transportation to the overland track and get picked up right at the hostel. Although we are older* travelers we were very comfortable here. All staff was extremely competent and helpful.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank 1totravelfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews