We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer lovers delight”

James Boag Brewery Experience
Ranked #6 of 73 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beer lovers delight”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a great guide , sally who was very passionate and knowledgeable about the whole process.Good for everyone and ends with superb wine and beer tasting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrazzyHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    101
    27
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Boag's (official beer of the Melbourne Cup) tour”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

As a local I finally did this tour when my brother visited from Sydney. Our guide, Cilla was informative, passionate & very personable. Factory floor and scale of the operation was very impressive. Boag's is to me an excellent product in all its incarnations. Perhaps a little pricey as only three beers were tasted (though better for interstate tourists as two of the three are only available on the island). Overall it was a good morning well spent (just be sure to book as I saw a couple turned away). Merchandise surprisingly high quality & reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank wtandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good interactive guide , he enjoyed a joke and new his stuff”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Well worth the tour . You get to experience a working brewery on a large scale and given the constraints of safety now days , Don the guide did an excellent job.
A week day may give you a little more exposure but it would be minimal in the grand scale of things.
The beer tasting and matching with cheese was informative and done well .
A must do is interact with the guide and thoughs on the tour with you and have fun. Nothing worse than standing there like a stale bottle of p--s , if you pardon the pun.
Geoff

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Totogor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pick your days”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

As a long time lover of Boags i looked forward to the tour. The part i looked forward to most was the bottling and canning section along with packaging and warehousing. These sections were not and, apparently hadn't been for a while, operating. The tasting was good but it seems pointless running a tour when much of the process is dormant. Not impressed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TASSIE (AUSSIE) BEER TO BE PROUD OF”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

In Launceston and a trip to J Boag & Son Brewery is a must. We had a guided tour of the Brewery (VERY INTERESTING) and finished off the tour with a fabulous beer tasting with local Tassie cheese & bickies hour. Great way to finish the day.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Boag Brewery Experience also viewed

 

Been to James Boag Brewery Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing