We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer lovers delight”

James Boag Brewery Experience
Ranked #6 of 73 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Attraction details
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beer lovers delight”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The tour 1.5 hr tour was informative we were able to view the inside of the brewery and how it work the histroy of one of Australia biggest brewery was very interesting also.The tour guide was quite knowledgeable except for the fact he told us that the bottle line had just shut down when we had been informed by the booking person the bottleing line was shut down for a week due to maintence. Ok course the most enjoyable part of the tour was the beer tasteing and they were service with some of Tassie great cheeses.
Good value for money

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2mumies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    102
    27
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh Canada”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Had a great tour. We were shown around by a Canadian guy who I think knew more about the brewery and the area then most native Tasmanians and he really made the tour enjoyable. The beer and cheese matchings were genius. My only complaint is that I can't get xxx ale or Wizard Smith ale in Melbourne.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brewery Tour”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What a wonderful tour...our guide was fun and informative. The history was interesting and the actual brewing process was amazing. Highly enjoyable...and I don't even drink beer!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beer tour”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

the beer tour was very informative and very interesting, I liked the fact they were generous with the beer cheese and biscuits after the tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank harris377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Highlight of trip to Launceston”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went to Launceston on the weekend for the Melbourne Victory V Central Coast Mariners game... I wanted to do something touristy but not too far away from the city, and this was perfect!

Kate, our guide was very likeable, she gave loads of info but was never boring... The hour or so flew by, learnt a bit about the beer making process, and the history of beer in Launceston, checked out the process as we went... Finally there was a beer and cheese tasting, the beers were good, the XXX ale, which is actually a lager, only available on the island, was awesome! We even went to the trouble to get a pint of it after the game! The cheeses were mindblowingly good... Making me sad that Mark is vegan...

The tour was $50 for both of us, and you get the 3 beers and cheeses included, which was great value! It was a lovely way to spend and afternoon... Highly recommend it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank burna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James Boag Brewery Experience also viewed

 

Been to James Boag Brewery Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing