We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh, yummy and great service”
Review of Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe - CLOSED

Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Salsa tapas wine bar is a great restaurant located at Seaport overlooking the Marina. Eat inside with multiple choices of seating from booths, couch areas, bar seating or traditional table seating or alfesco over looking the marina. At Salsa we adopt the Spanish way of eating, taking the time to enjoy many different flavours over a period of time with family and friends. We use quality, fresh ingredients sourced locally whenever possible and change some menu choices seasonally.Enjoy the experience in our relaxed restaurant where we always strive for great food and service.
Ormiston, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh, yummy and great service”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great choice of food. Quirky presentation. Delicious. Bring people here every time someone visits us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Womby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for Salsa. We do appreciate your time and it does help people to get an idea of what we strive to achieve here. We are a team at Salsa and they will all be pleased to hear you enjoy your time here. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food, poor service!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We sat at an outside table and were completely ignored for a full 10 minutes, despite 3 different staff members walking straight past us frequently. We had to go over to a staff member to ask for menus! The food however was very tasty, and served quickly once we had eventually ordered. They do need to work on their coffee though, it was very milky and weak!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
I am sorry to hear your experience with us was less than expected. I'm not sure when you visited however if it was over the long weekend it was extremely busy for us unexpectedly which of course makes it difficult to ensure we can give the service we would like. Unfortunately if our customers do not see a staff member prior to being seated it is not always clear to us that you have not been seen too so I apologise if you felt ignored however our staff would have assumed you were being taken care of if you were seated. Good to hear you enjoyed your meal and we hope we have another chance to see you at Salsa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
1 review
“Ideal for private functions!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked out Salsa for a private function on a Saturday night for around 75 people. All guests had seven different items from the tapas menu that we chose, the quality of the food was excellent and we heard only positive feedback from our guests. Also, our vegetarian and gluten free guests were well catered for. The atmosphere in the room was perfect, and it was nice and cosy without being so crowded that people couldn't move about. Early in the evening the sunset coming in through the windows off the water was perfect. The staff were friendly and very accomodating, couldn't be faulted. Overall, this was an excellent venue for our function and made for a very memorable night. Thanks to the team at Salsa!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
So glad your guests enjoyed the night and most importantly you and your partner. Your group were a pleasure to have and we were thrilled to host your celebration. Thank you so much for taking the time to review Salsa and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Popped into Salsa's after a river cruise.

Experience was lovely from start to finish.

Food was fantastic, reasonably priced and came out quick.

Service was great. Staff all very friendly and informed on menu.

Suggest to try to lamb cutlets with Greek salad, as well as the blue cheese soufflé, it was devinnnne!


Helpful?
Thank Mauledbymeerkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your experience at Salsa.The team are great and really work hard to please our customers in all areas and its rewarding for them to hear your feedback. Thank you also for taking the time to submit a review, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for sharing”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 3 times. Once for dinner with my sister which was quite expensive but last two times with big groups where the staff arranged tapas style banquets for us. We could not believe the food kept coming and coming! Very tasty and we were all stuffed! Excellent wine range too including a coulle of different sparkling rose's which go excellent with tapas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your tapas feast! Sharing is the best way to enjoy tapas and the platters available. Sorry you thought we were expensive previously as we do try to keep our pricing as low as possible whilst still maintaining the high standard of ingredients. With our menu changing again in coming weeks, we hope to see you back again. Thank you for taking the time to review Salsa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe also viewed

 
Invermay, Launceston
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Kings Meadows, Launceston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing