We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe - CLOSED

Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Salsa tapas wine bar is a great restaurant located at Seaport overlooking the Marina. Eat inside with multiple choices of seating from booths, couch areas, bar seating or traditional table seating or alfesco over looking the marina. At Salsa we adopt the Spanish way of eating, taking the time to enjoy many different flavours over a period of time with family and friends. We use quality, fresh ingredients sourced locally whenever possible and change some menu choices seasonally.Enjoy the experience in our relaxed restaurant where we always strive for great food and service.
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was definatley NOT over priced, like everywhere you pay for the quality.. .. ..and let me tell you the quality was amazing! Service was incredibley wonderful and I couldnt say a bad thing about any of the staff. Brilliant decor and comfortable setting! Definatley recommend a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LXJ-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting Salsa and taking the time to give us a review. It really means a lot to us to receive your feedback and encourage our team to keep up the good work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    41
    7
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

service was poor , a particular rude blonde waitress who always seems put out and bothered to have to serve you , place was nice inside if it wasn't so empty , food was rediculasly over priced for how good it was , over priced and small servings and poor service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainman666666666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are disappointed that you had a less than happy experience with us. We do try to keep our prices to a minimum however due to sourcing quality ingredients and labour intensive menu items it is impossible to get pricing any less. I am not sure if it is a particular taste you were not happy with as we have had many customers compliment the pate so it is unfortunate you did not enjoy this.
We pride ourselves in a great team of staff members and we were all disappointed to hear you were not happy with the service, as I am not sure when you visited with us I cannot understand what happened on that occasion. I certainly trust it was a coincidence you were not feeling well as we have never had an issue in this respect and certainly strive not too.
We take your comments seriously and will address each one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing at Seaport”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Restaurant was fairly empty when dined there, but decor was nice and staff were quite friendly and helpful. Limited food menu that was overpriced and expensive drinks, which is ok IF the service and food was exceptional, sadly it wasn't. Service was ok, but staff seemed they wanted to be elsewhere or wanted to go home. The food looked good, but was a disappointment. Scallops were ok, lamb was either over cooked or under cooked and not tender at all, pâté was tasteless... A real letdown, then got the bill which for what we had and the quality of it all was over the top. To top it all off, my wife and myself had an upset stomach afterwards and our child was sick and vomiting that evening, which may be a coincidence...... Not worth it and a real dissappointment, in short Salsa is OFF!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PGH888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
We were disappointed to read your review mainly because you did not mention any of this to us at the time of your visit to enable us to address your issues properly at that time and hopefully been able to make your experience with us a better one.
All our prices are listed on our wine lists and food menus therefore there should not have been any undue surprise at the time of receiving your account. We use only the freshest Tasmanian produce we can find and try to keep our prices to a minimum i.e two fresh Tasmanian lamb cutlets served with a greek salad for $10.00, we believe is very reasonable. We strive to give great food and service and can only apologise if you did not feel you received this during your visit with us.
Your comment on the pate is unfortunate as we have just had a customer in and highly praising this dish. I guess we all have different tastes and here again we are really sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us.
I will certainly pass your comments on to our Head Chef and address the Front of House issues with my staff as we truly do strive to keep our customers happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always perfect”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Have been many times, excellent every time. All food is amazing, and comes out perfectly timed.
Very highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CammoWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks guys for coming back and taking the time to review again, we really appreciate your feedback. We are introducing "Salsa Loyalty Cards" soon so please be sure to make yourself known when next your in. Look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go for the view”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Nothing was great but nothing was poor either. The service was incredibly slow .... Friendly staff just no where to be seen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WeloveNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood286, Owner at Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear you were not pleased with your experience at Salsa. As I am not sure when you visited it is difficult for me to understand why the service was not up to standard for you. I do sincerely apologise as we do try hard to keep our customers happy and appreciate your business. I will certainly address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salsa Tapas Wine Bar Cafe also viewed

 
Invermay, Launceston
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing