We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at the Penny Royal a couple of times now and we plan on staying again on 28 September. We found our room to be spacious and warm most of all very clean. We will never hesitate to stay here when we are visiting Launceston. We make frequent visits to Launceston from Hobart and enjoy our stay immensely.

The price of $69.00 for two people a night was good value for our accommodation. Since Penny Royal has refurbished their establishment it has made a major improvement and I would recommend this place for staying over.

You will be so glad you stayed. Give it a try.

W.J. Dickson
Brighton 7030
Tasmania

  • Liked — The comfort, warmth and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Photogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    868
    441
    113
    82
See reviews for
649
831
79
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The motels rooms have been recently renovated. They are now very modern and clean. Paid $69 per night for two people, which was incredible value. The only complaint was we had a room facing the street which was quite noisy at night but considering we had a great view of the Tamar River we could put up with the noise for the views. I also highly recommend the Cataract Bistro down the road for an evening meal.

  • Liked — Value for money and location
  • Disliked — Noisy and had to cart luggage up two flight of steps
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devil-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Stayed here as part or our trip around Tassie, we loved that it was so close to Catarct Gorge and only a 1 minute drive to the heart of Launceston.

  • Liked — Being close to Cataract gorge
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

My Mum and I were booked into the Penny Royal for one night before leaving Tasmania. It was a very hot day in Launceston. When we walked into our non smoking room we were instantly hit by the smell of stale cigarette smoke and it must have been a good 10 degrees hotter in the apartments than the temperature outside. Our initial impression (aside from the smell) was a very rundown and stuffy apartment. I felt ill just walking through the door. So as not to end our wonderful experience in Tasmania in this way we walked straight out and booked into another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SKT9410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale NSW Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Quite quaint when you first set eyes on them, but once you are past the door quaintness disappears and wanting of a bit more modernisation takes over. The "apartments" are three levelled. Upstairs for sleeping - double bedroom and two single beds bedroom. Next level separate toilet and small bathroom, down three more stairs to small living room and kitchenette. Our first night in a wooden framed double bed was very uncomfortable. Launceston experienced quite hot weather during the daytime with temps. of 35degreesC and only cooling down to about 22 degrees C at night. The bedroom being at the top was very hot and only a small window. No fan of any description and the bed creaked everytime you moved. For the second and third night we took the single mattresses downstairs and slept in the living room next to the larger windows. There was a guest laundry at the other end of the building with 3 pay washing machines and 2 pay dryers. No ironing boards in the rooms, and only one in the laundry. Had to queue both times to use it. About a good ten minute walk into town and to the riverside restaurants. On a main road and with windows open traffic noise was loud most of the night with large semi trailers travelling throughout the night.
I would recommend only a one night stay here.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ozbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Having stayed before the motels were renovated i was not impressed, but gave them a second chance now that their motels have been renovated and they have turn out to be amazing, lovley queen size beds and very clean

  • Liked — Cleanlieness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naylazeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2006

Do NOT stay here, attractions are shut down, place is filthy,
accomodations smell like a dirty old sailor

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — accommodations
  • Tips/Secrets — do not go
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,381 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Property: Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing