We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
The Sebel Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mantra Charles Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Peppers Seaport Hotel(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Balmoral on York(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$96
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Family Motor Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$84
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auldington(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$80
$72
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Bakery Inn(Launceston)(Great Value!)
$66
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,466)
Filter reviews
2,466 results
Traveler rating
722
1,005
511
133
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
1,005
511
133
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscataract gorgekings bridgetheme parkgreat locationold millbedroom apartmentwalking distancecity centreold world charmold buildingshort staygreat value for moneywould stay againgreat place to stayfree parkingaccommodationwindmill
Filter
Updating list...
2,244 - 2,249 of 2,466 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We've stayed now four times and will again I'm sure. Great option for larger family units with the apartments available. Overall, very happy with our stay, everything worked and was clean, very comfortable for all our group. That's all you can really ask for!

Room Tip: Go the apartments! Very charming!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenGm350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is so great to receive such positive feedback, and it’s wonderful to hear that you keep coming back.

I will be passing your feedback onto the team here at Leisure Inn Penny Royal and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Natasha Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Only stayed a couple of nights before leaving Tassie, it was a nice place to end our touring...must do for sure is the Gorge, stunning...would definitely stay here again, and have recommended Penny Royal to friends already..

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank GrandMaDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Penny Royal. We are definitely very lucky to be situated in a beautiful location and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and better yet, recommending us.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in Tassie and I am glad that we were able to end your touring on a lovely note.

Kind Regards
Natasha Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Our first accommodation when we arrived in Tasmania, we found the rooms clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful when we asked for directions or information. The hotel is easy walking distance to Cataract gorge which is well worth the walk.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear David,
Thank you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay at Leisure Inn Penny Royal.

It is always great to receive positive feedback, not only about the hotel and rooms but also with regards to the staff. I will pass on your feedback to the team at Penny Royal, they will appreciate your feedback.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with you feedback and I hope that you enjoy the rest of your time in Tasmania, it is definitely a beautiful state.

Kind Regards
Natasha Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in early February, once when arriving in Tasmania and again when leaving. We had a 2 bedroom apartment which was located a few minutes up the road from reception. The apartment was well equipped and comfortable and parking was plentiful. Handy to restaurants and attractions. The weather was mild so lack of air conditioning did not affect us.
Would recommend staying at this location rather than the block where reception was located as parking there was very tight and chaotic. All in all would stay again when visiting Tasmania.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aged65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time provide your feedback with regards to your recent stay a Leisure Inn Penny Royal.

It is always great to receive positive feedback from our guests and we are happy that your time with us was enjoyable and memorable.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Kind Regards
Natasha Beck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Second visit to Penny Royal after first in 2001. A lot has changed. We were accommodated in the Apartments further up the road from the main hotel. Room was on the second floor; not so good for four 'oldies' with large luggage. Room was reasonable although bedrooms were upstairs whilst the loo was downstairs (ever tried being whisper quiet during the night on one of your loo visits?). The adjoining rooms were in the process of either being demolished or renovated; how could a hotel expect visitors to enjoy such an experience? The attraction at Penny Royal used to be the somewhat corny enactments of days gone by using ships and cannons etc to entertain visitors. This has since gone into disrepair. Whether Leisure Inn are attempting to resurrect the place to its former self, who knows. A very disappointing stay and not inexpensive too.

Room Tip: Possibly stay at the main hotel - better still, not at all!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal6159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews