We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting, walking distance to Cataract Gorge..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nth Qld
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, walking distance to Cataract Gorge..”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We loved the Penny Royal, it was one of our favourite stop overs in Tasmania. Don't let the outside appearance fool you. Inside is a modern and very clean room with spacious features. The bathroom is huge and the bed is so comfortable! The Windmill Tavern serves delicious food and the staff are friendly and helpful. It was within walking distance to the Cataract Gorge, Tamar River and city centre. It's in a quiet position with convenience stores close by. We couldn't fault it and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor, close to the road and had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesperadoNthQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    870
    442
    113
    82
See reviews for
652
833
79
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

What a terrific place to stay so close to the wonderful Launceston gorge. We stayed in the old water mill. After reading earlier reviews we requested a ground floor room. Glad we did as there are three levels with no lift (that we could see). Interior is newly renovated along side old world charm - hard wood door and beams. Bathroom was spotless and modern. Bed super comfy. The only negatives were the room was a little warm so we had the provided fan on all night. There is no A/C. Breakfast was included in the adjoining restaurant. Sadly our poached eggs were all hard boiled. Never mind it was a great stay otherwise. I hope the windmill gets renovated and reopened.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max20kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were lucky as we were on the ground floor. Lovely clean spacious room, no view but we were only there 2 nights. Car parking was free and nearby. Bathroom was great, towels a bit small but ok. Plenty of room and a lovely large shower. Good tv and tea and coffee with a fridge. A bit out of main town but near the cataract gorge. No cleaning of room, but we were aware of this and it was reflected in the price. A pleasant surprise in a lovely town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilah933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh On Sea
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you're looking for a shiny stainless establishment, this isn't for you, but for Heritage surroundings, with every modern convenience, this is very nice. Close to the lovely Cataract Gorge, yet 5 mins walk into town, its ideally situated. Reception is warm and helpful (printed out our boarding passes) and the generous tea-making facilities include a carton of real milk on arrival. The ground floor family rooms are particularly spacious, if a little dark. Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexgirlnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed two nights in a top floor room. I know its not a top end establishment but was a little disappointed with the room. It smelled musty and we had to leave the windows open all night which meant it was a little noisy. The hot water in the shower ran out very quickly. Draging heavy luggage up three levels of narrow stairs was not fun. On the upside, the location is very convenient to the city and easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have heavy bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJS239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in "the stables". From other reviews it looks like the rooms vary a lot. Ours was large and comfortable, big bathroom, only get in early for a shower on busy days, no hot water by 8:30 two days in a row. The rate was cheap and we had no maid service for the 3 days but we knew that in advance. Excellent location, easy walk to town and the evening walks along the Cataract Gorge were a treat. We ate breakfast and dinner once at the restaurant. A little pricey but very good quality and excellent service.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We got a great deal and for what we paid we weren't disappointed. Clean, well presented and great value for money.

This isn't a high end hotel obviously, but for a budget hotel it had everything we needed.

We were only there one night but the staff were friendly and we only found out when we arrived that it was within walking distance of the Spectacular Cateract Gorge. You can see the first part of the gorge 1 minute walk from the front door of the hotel.

If you're after a low cost stay on the edge of the CBD and near some amazing natural beauty we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDT1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Property: Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing