We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced lodgings in Launceston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced lodgings in Launceston”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The Location is excellent. You can walk to King's Park, the esplanade along the river, and restaurants. Be aware that the apartments are up some steep stairs. The apartment we stayed in was on two floors. The two bedrooms (upstairs) are not ensuite and the toilet and bathroom are downstairs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    870
    442
    113
    82
See reviews for
652
833
79
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

older style hotel, but charming.Staff are very pleasant and dining in attached restaurant was great. Stayed for work and was a 10 minute walk into main part of town. Also nice to have gardens across road and walking tracks nearby.....solo business traveller and made to feel at home.good value for money

Room Tip: upstairs rooms need to carry bags but on plus die are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were happy with our three nights at Penny Royal - it was a great value stay in a convenient location.

Considering the price of the room, we found the rooms to be clean, modern and a good size, and the overall hotel building has great character. It was nice to be able to stroll across the street to Stillwater for breakfast, and it wasn't too far to the centre of Launceston either.

As other reviewers have mentioned, if you are on the upper floors you will need to carry your bags up a couple of fairly steep flights of stairs. Being an older style of hotel it also tends to be a bit noisy (our room was above the bar) but we sleep like the dead so it wasn't a great problem for us. Another little issue was that the bathroom wasn't the most fabulous design so shower tended to flood a bit. None of these were a dealbreaker for us - we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: If lugging your suitcases up flights of steps is a bother - request a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is directly opposite the river and the lovely Stillwater restaurant. Our room was clean and comfortable but I was a bit disappointed that I wasn't told about the stairs - there's no elevator and we were on the 2nd floor so bringing our suitcases up was a struggle! Overall good basic accommodation in a rustic setting.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sljr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozelle, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a one nighter before heading home and would have been better with a little more information.
We had luggage for a two week holiday but our room at the front of the hotel with a nice view of the Tamer was on the 2nd floor and about 26 wooded steps and no lift.
The room itself was rustic and good with good bathroom and amenities for a modest price.

Room Tip: If you book the upper floor, packa light carry bag and leave the suit caes in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spent 3 nights here with a big group of 3 families. Accommodation was in 2 bedroom apartments. The apartments on the front of the building get road noise but on the other side of the corridor it's beautiful and quiet and has bigger bathrooms.
We bought some groceries and cooked breakfast one morning. Everything you need is provided in the kitchenette.
We dined at the Windmill Tavern one night but were disappointed in some of the meals which were small for the price and left some of our group hungry.
Walking distance to town but other accommodation is closer.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Penny Royal last Christmas (2011) and were quite impressed with the room we got. This year we stayed again but can now see why some people gave somewhat negative reviews. Instead of a ground floor apartment we were given an upstairs room, and here lies the first issue: the stairs. I can't see that they would be made to Australian standard--they are steep and would be very easy to trip up. The room itself has two sets of stairs: top level rooms, mid level bath and toilet and bottom level, kitchen and lounge. The second issue was the hard bed which my partner found quite uncomfortable. The balcony we had was great but the view out to the carpark was marred by a horrible looking dumpster, and the highways noise was quite noticeable (which wasn't apparent in the ground floor apartment). A third issue was the lighting in the bathroom and generally in all the rooms. All those negatives aside, there were few places that had the room and the location near the middle of Launceston that were the same price. It was great to be able to park the car and walk into the city, up to the Aquatic Centre for a swim, or into the Cataract Gorge for a leisurely walk and even a swim in the First Basin. The staff were friendly and helpful enough and I am not sure, given the property's design there is probably not a lot the owners can do about it to overcome the issues. Next Christmas we'll probably look elsewhere if we come to Launceston again.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room to avoid noise and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Property: Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing