We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, adequate service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel on our recent trip to Tasmania. Our room, Suite Hawthorn, was on the 1st Floor and turned out to be a pleasant surprise. It was quite roomy, had a queen size bed plus a single bed, small fridge, and tea-making facilities.
The facility is an old mill that was quite successfully converted to a hotel. It is located within walking distance of the city centre. There is a tavern on the premises that seems to be a favourite with the locals as well as with visitors. As our room was located right above it, we got some of the negative aspect of its popularity - noise. There is free parking is on the premises.

The service was a bit of hit and miss. The front desk employee that checked us in was pleasant and helpful. Our check out, however, was less pleasant as the employee was quite curt with us. She would definitely benefit from some additional hospitality training.

No help was offered / provided with our luggage, and the room wasn't vacuumed during our stay. Unfortunately, not having the room vacuumed during a stay of more than one night seems to be standard procedure in all Australian hotels we stayed at during our trip. Also, there was no Internet access available at the hotel.

In spite of the shortcomings, we would recommend this facility.

Room Tip: Preferably not above the tavern, as it gets quite noisy at the weekend.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ala13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,201)
There are newer reviews for Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room was spacious, clean and had every thing we needed. The restaurant on site was fabulous as were the staff who were attentive and knowledgeable. The building was unique with lots of history and central to all the sights in Launceston, parking was easy. The only negative was that it was a little noisy with the window open but when closed none of the traffic noise could be heard.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandDan1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights (15th and 16th November) and I highly recommend it. What a gorgeous building. The Watermill Tavern is a must when you stay here.
The hotel room was extremely comfortable and spacious. The tavern meals were amazing and the staff delightful!
A must for both staying and eating if you are in Launcestion.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mezza72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and were not disappointed. The reception staff member was very helpful and showed us a map where our rooms were. It was hard, though, with luggage and being of advanced years to get our suitcases up the stairs but luckily we were on the first floor. We found it very helpful to be able to pay per room and not per person as we had a single traveler with us. The rooms are spacious and have all amenities and its a lovely feel to be in such an old building. Its unfortunate that the restaurant is run by another company and therefore one has to pay for each meal as one goes and can't add it onto the room. The meal there was excellent and they managed to fit us in even though we arrived late and at short notice. The Express Breakfast is very good but would be better when they can poach a soft egg!

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, ask for a ground floor room .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here on the 27 and 28 Oct then again on the 6th Nov.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly and a comfortable walk to the CDB and restaurants. The tavern on site has excellent meals and the staff very friendly. A big thank you to all and a special thank you to Sarah at the tavern.
A lovely friendly girl with a warm smile.
If you stay there and have breakfast, do try the breakfast tart.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrave5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Awesome, will back, love it, the grounds need a bit of work but the room was lovely and the buildings are so pretty...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was so looking forward to my stay here, but disappointed with the Peny Royal. On arrival at reception the lady was courteous but not overly friendly. I was surprised to find I was to lug my suitcase up a rickety set of external stairs with no offer of help. I noticed several other women struggling, and one who even unpacked gear from her car to get through the night rather than battle the stairs with heavy suitcases. Rooms were nice, but the modern furniture not really fitting with the history of the building. Venetian blinds with gaps at the top & bottom meant so much light came through that it was like daylight all night with streetlights shining in. Nothing a couple of drapes wouldn't fix. Wi-fi was through some outfit called Jimojo(?) and cost about A$7. per hour.....everywhere else I stayed in Tasmania was no more than $5. for 24hours. On a positive note location was good, and rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: ask for ground floor unless you're prepared to carry heavy suitcases up rickety stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 90travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $80 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing