We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great last minute find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 32 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our family of five was looking for a nights accommodation in Launceston and we found ourselves at the Penny Royal on reccomendation from the local Tourist Info service. The three bedroom apartment was more than suitable for our needs, loads of space, clean and comfortable. Had a pleasant nights sleep although noise could be heard from the adjoining rooms which may have kept light sleepers awake. The only negative I feel a need to mention is the many stairs you need to negotiate with baggage to get to the apatment and then another flight of stairs in the apartment up to the bedrooms, this was a struggle for my older parents.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyAustralia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,126 - 2,132 of 2,245 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice Ye Olde rooms. Very comfortable, plenty of space. Got a ripper internet deal for the room rate, and chose to stay there for 2 nights. post a disppointing stay at the Auldington.

Fantastic resteraunt with great staff with excellent food. Brilliant for business travellers. An easy walk into town.

Free parking!! As it should be. (Not at the Auldington)

Will definatly be back

Room Tip: If you cant handle stairs, insist on ground floor room, as it is olde world, upstairs rooms are a cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyw3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel simply for the look of it and found it was just perfect.
The staff were so friendly!
room was queit
The rooms were a great size and the bed was very comfy, bathroom was very clean.
And i really liked that the sink wasn't in the same room as the shower (which made it easy for me to get ready while my partner was in the shower)

The only bad things were, that our shower head kept falling down, but after some fiddling we got it to stay up, the fridge was a bit smelly and not very cold and the restaurant was what seemed very overpriced, $24 for a pie was their cheapest option and when you walked outside your room all you could smell was smoke from the restaurant workers and the smoking area.

But overall the stay was amazing and we were extremely happy with the value for money, $89 with a free bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyana95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed at Penny Royal motel style units for four nights over two visits of two nights each. The first stay was in the rooms adjacent to the Reception Office on the ground floor. Room was large and well appointed with a fantastic large bathroom. There was a special rate of $99 per night for a double room with a complimentary full breakfast at the restaurant. On the first morning, we went to the restaurant for breakfast, but were served the 'express' breakfast, which was not quite as good as the 'complimentary' breakfast. After mentioning this to reception, the next morning, we knew we had to specify that we were entitled to the full complimentary breakfast. We found the restaurant manager was a bit over-the-top officious, but the reception staff were lovely. On our second visit of another two days, we were booked into a top floor unit, over the driveway from Reception, which had heaps of stairs to get to our room (not so good for these old knees!). The room was very light and airy, but the bathroom was exceptionally small. We did make good use of the Motel laundry. The motel grounds were lovely and very olde worldly, but would certainly have preferred to stay in the rooms nearest to reception. Parking during the evening at dinner times was a bit haphazard with people using the restaurant parking in the motel parking area.This motel is very handy to Cataract Gorge.

Room Tip: Try to book the rooms on the reception level. Large rooms with great bathrooms, and no stairs to neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ippy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

despite some poor reviews but we decided to stay one night and found that location was good and good parking and good price. didn't found the place noisy at all and bathrooms and bedrooms were very well cleaned, staff were very friendly. kitchen was a bit small but it had provided us for what we needed e.g. two stoves, cutleries and electric pan for us to cook...bedrooms were a bit cool during this time of the year so remember to switch on your heater when you get there! Downside to accomodation was we had to carry out lagguages up the steps but apart from this we were pretty happy with eveurthing :) would definately recommend family and friend to go there if they visit launceston.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikiMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Despite some not so favourable reviews I decided to take a chance on this property because it always looked so unique on the outside. Was pleasantly surprised. Had a 2 storey 2 bedroom unit in the block closest to Cataract Gorge and didn't find it noisy at all. Had to walk stairs each time to get to room but it was a novelty walking past different room names all military themed. For someone not so fit, may want a ground level room.

Room was reasonably new refurbished. Lounge seating enough for 3 persons only, had to sit at dining table otherwise. Kitchen adequate, only a bar fridge though and no oven, just hot plates and microwave.
Bedrooms upstairs, queen bed in master bedroom and queen and single in second room. Only heater on one bedroom though. Could do with more spare pillows also.
All in all a reasonable property with only realistically about 900 metres to city centre walking and free parking do can't complain there.
Staff were all very friendly but being apartments don't really see staff unless you need something. Housekeeping on rooms available daily but we did not bother at only staying 2 nights .
Would have liked to seen the property in its full glory as its old facilities going to waste, used to have its own tram running and be a working attraction park with military theming. They should at least make use of the tram which is just in a shed, would make a great coffee shop or bar!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Hugely enjoyable lodge, friendly staff & in a great edge of town location.
Reasonable rates & excellent breakfasts.
All round winner.
Big comfortable clean rooms.
Used the owners Sydney Hotel:
The Park Regis at 27 Park St. Sydney NSW, for our stay there as we were so impressed with this Tasmanian property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
3.3 mi away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#6 of 30 in Launceston
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range: $80 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing