We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pretty, comfortable but too noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very pretty, comfortable but too noisy!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

The pictures of the Penny Royal don't disappoint. It really is a lovely hotel. The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was excellent (it was included in our room price). Our room was very comfortable and we had a great time until we tried to go to sleep. Even though our room was not in the front of the hotel we could hear loud cars driving by. At 1am a very drunk and not at all happy patron was kicked out of the tavern nearby and we heard every word of the altercation. If it weren't for the noise, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmileyJane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    836
    427
    112
    80
See reviews for
626
812
76
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Advertised online special $90, linked to another price of $95, I got charged $105 no breakfast supplied, had to request milk was not in the room or given at the desk, it was hard to open the very heavy latched bathroom door and the temperature in the bathroom was freezing compared to the rest of the room, and I had difficulty sleeping due to traffic noise........ wifi is not free, one plug with a light in it for the work desk so had to pull the desk light out to plug in laptop, minor problem but I wanted both at the time so for us we will look elsewhere next time and we wont reccomend the hotel to anyone I would probably actively disssuade.... Len from Melbourne

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfart99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager170873, General Manager at Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
I have read with concern your comments passed regarding your stay at Leisure Inn Penny Royal, on behalf of myself and staff I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Milk for tea/coffee is offered to all guests on checkin, I apologise for this oversight on checkin. I thank you for your feedback and are using your comments to undertstand how we can better service guests needs and provide quality accommodation.
C.Long GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

This accommodation was a big disappointment. We have stayed in Tasmania many times and this is the worst place in which we have ever stayed. The rooms were dark and dingy and had difficulty opening the front door. Our party of four were all 75yrs old + and we were given a room on the second floor up a set of rickety stairs with insufficient handrails after initially asking for ground floor. When we approached the front reception for assistance a middle aged woman responded after a 10 minute wait, with an abrupt, "
"What's your problem?"
We were finally moved to another adjacent building owned by the same hotel, which was a little better but we then had to drive back to the other hotel for breakfast.
Breakfast was below standard - eggs were horrible and bacon overcooked.
Don't stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastTakingOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

A tad ye olde but lots of character and charm and very nicely renovated to provide all the modern facilities you could need. It is place on the main road, but we didn't have an issue with noise and it's very conveniently located, only a short walk to the Gorge and there is one of the best Deli/shops & restaurants in Launceston - Still Water across the road. Recommend enjoying the morning sun over breakfast in their courtyard. We also requested a late check out which was provided without a problem.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davo1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

This tudor style accommodation is well located next to the beautiful Cataract Gorge. The room I stayed in was spacious but if I could change one thing, it would be to have a door separating the bathroom sink and the foyer area. Also, I didn't like the hotel placing an ashtray outside the room door, as this could encourage smokers. The reception staff were polite and so were the restaurant staff. The fact that the hotel was next to the highway didn't bother me too much.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safenoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

These gorgeous old buildings make a nice setting and its a perfect location so close to Launceston city and to Cataract Gorge.
Nice spacious room, pleasant service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieSull19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Read everyone elses review, I didn't, didn't have time... What a mistake.
It was 20C in Launceston & the apartment was like an oven, couldn't change & had prepaid, nightmare. The motorway feels like it runs straight thru your room & no air-con or double glazing it was depressing. The apartment has some vaguely new fittings, but NO, NO, NO. Don't do. There r amazing places in Tassie, this is not one of them.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Batman Fawkner Inn
Batman Fawkner Inn
#20 of 30 in Launceston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Property: Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing