We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apartments are a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The apartments are a nightmare”
Reviewed December 11, 2007

We stayed in the apartment (not yet renovated) and were disgusted at how filthy the couches and carpet were. Also people were definitely smoking in the non smoking rooms as it was floating through into our rooms.

Worst still very noisy renovations were going on right next door to our room and we have a seven month old baby who needs day sleeps (which they were aware of as we booked a cot).

But the real icing on the cake was that they were using strong chemicals to seal the bathroom floor on the appartment next to ours. The smell went right through our room including the kitchen area and coicided with our 3 year old developing a cough.

Needless to say we left and booked in at the Quest hotel who were fantastic.

  • Liked — close to the city
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KandaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    870
    442
    113
    82
See reviews for
652
833
79
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

We've stayed at the PennyRoyal three or four times now, with two kiddies - now 11 and 4.

First time was a room facing the freeway - Very noisy and hot.

From then on we've always specified one of the rooms overlooking the lake, at the back of the complex.

It means lugging bags up a flight of steep stairs, but it's worth it.

Don't plan on sleeping through the day, though, as they fire bloomin' cannon every so often in reinactments on the lake!

Also specify NON SMOKING and insist on it, as the smokers rooms stink. Just walking past makes me want to chuck up.

Always ask for their best rate, as the rack price is usually negotiable. At worst, they'll give you Wotif equivalent rate.

Good location to walk around town.

Haven't been since they renovated. It can only have gotten better.

Enjoy!

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Squerznb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I have previously written a review on this property when we stayed in the apartments with our children and it was BAD BAD BAD!! This time we thought we would give them another chance as their website had said that all the motels had recently been re furbished. So, with fingers crossed, we visited again. And we're glad we did.

The motel rooms have been beautifully remodelled and now feature comfortable Queen sized beds with new doonas (duvets) comfortable seating, new TV's and a wonderful new bathrom!!

The rooms were warm and comfortable and very clean. The house keeping staff were great and made up our room daily. The reception staff were very helpful in advising places to eat. (the restaraunt at the property is undergoing refurbisshment as well) But the property still serves breakfastm which was great with eggs, bacon, mushrooms etc and also a good selection of continental breakfast items.

We paid only AU$94 per night and that included our full breakfast so it was great value.

Penny royal are currently refurbishing their apartments which are still as per my last review so avoid them unless you can get one that has already been remodelled. If the renovation in the motel rooms is anything to go by, the apartments should be fantastic when they are complete.

I am pleased we gave this property another go as they really have done a great job. I will be recommending this place to others.

Happy Travels guys. All the best. Claire :)

  • Liked — Great Renovation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Endless-Summer-Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I have stayed at the Penny Royal a couple of times now and we plan on staying again on 28 September. We found our room to be spacious and warm most of all very clean. We will never hesitate to stay here when we are visiting Launceston. We make frequent visits to Launceston from Hobart and enjoy our stay immensely.

The price of $69.00 for two people a night was good value for our accommodation. Since Penny Royal has refurbished their establishment it has made a major improvement and I would recommend this place for staying over.

You will be so glad you stayed. Give it a try.

W.J. Dickson
Brighton 7030
Tasmania

  • Liked — The comfort, warmth and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Photogra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

The motels rooms have been recently renovated. They are now very modern and clean. Paid $69 per night for two people, which was incredible value. The only complaint was we had a room facing the street which was quite noisy at night but considering we had a great view of the Tamar River we could put up with the noise for the views. I also highly recommend the Cataract Bistro down the road for an evening meal.

  • Liked — Value for money and location
  • Disliked — Noisy and had to cart luggage up two flight of steps
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Devil-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Stayed here as part or our trip around Tassie, we loved that it was so close to Catarct Gorge and only a 1 minute drive to the heart of Launceston.

  • Liked — Being close to Cataract gorge
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banjo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

My Mum and I were booked into the Penny Royal for one night before leaving Tasmania. It was a very hot day in Launceston. When we walked into our non smoking room we were instantly hit by the smell of stale cigarette smoke and it must have been a good 10 degrees hotter in the apartments than the temperature outside. Our initial impression (aside from the smell) was a very rundown and stuffy apartment. I felt ill just walking through the door. So as not to end our wonderful experience in Tasmania in this way we walked straight out and booked into another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SKT9410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.6 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Property: Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing