We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments At York Mansions

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments At York Mansions
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasonable Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Had an opportunity to spend 3 nights at the York Mansions. We had a 2 bedroom, one bathroom, apartment. It was very clean and had character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to check in early and use the apartment right until we had to leave for the airport which was rought 6 hours past the check-out time posted. The owners were away on vacation so there was limited assistance when dialing reception. Overall, the apartment was nice. If you travel in the winter be prepared for the apartment to be quite cold. They only have one wood burning fireplace and a couple portable heaters. On a downside, the road in front of the apartment is quite busy and the noise is a problem when in the living room/dining room. It was less noticeable in the bedrooms, but still a factor if you are looking for quiet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LWS_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
20
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

A colleague and I recently stayed in The Lodge at York Mansions for a week whilst travelling for work. Our flight was delayed quite late but I phoned ahead and the owner's were very accommodating, they greeted us promptly, helped us inside and then left us to settle and get some sleep. Having the oil heater on in the lounge when we arrived was a much welcomed touch!

The rooms are just like the pictures (right down to the fleur de lys)! The Sydney-sider in me wished for a slightly warmer bedroom (thank goodness for electric blankets), but it was the middle of winter after all and I loved the fireplace and quite enjoyed sitting and reading by the fire at night. I slept in one of the single beds and found it quite comfortable. The only problem for me was that the only chest of drawers was in the main bedroom (there was a hanging closet in both rooms though), so the apartment is probably better suited to families if staying there more than a few nights. I should also mention that the bathroom looks recently renovated and was extremely nice - blissfully warm shower, heated towel rack and ceiling heater as well!

The location is fantastic and an easy few blocks walk to everything (including supermarket, cafes, mall, river, Cataract Gorge). Parking was off street in the front of the building, and although this detracts a little from the charm of the building, it is convenient. The laundry was handy too, good to have access to an efficient washing machine and dryer!

Breakfast provisions were fresh and replenished every 2 days. We made good use of the kitchen and quite happily found everything in working order; from microwave to kettle to toaster to stove top and oven (baked dinners are so much nicer than microwaved ones)!

I also had a couple of nice chats with owner's John and Ann, who keep right out of your way during your stay, but are quick to be on hand if you go up to their office with a question or request.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission beach australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

Having hired a campervan to tour tasmania, (which had a leaking side window and wet mattress), we looked for a place to stay overnight whilst our bedding dried out in the van before heading into Cradle Mountain National Park.
I wanted something a little larger than a hotel room and as Launceston is full of history I thought a spot of old world would be something we should look for as a change to 5 star branded hotels we usually stay in when travelling.
we found York mansions per chance and was surprised to find an open fire place and lounge room as part of the deal.
We had a full appartment for the money and old it was but renovated, modern bathroom with fluffy warm towels and kitchen with everything, comfy leather lounges and fire place with a roaring wood fire ready to light.
What a treat!
The staff were very friendly, helpfull, chaty and welcoming.

  • Liked — log fire
  • Disliked — pine kitchen
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2008

My Stay at this property was a unique expirience, I Stayed in "The Baroness", The appartment was amazing with large main bedroom and sitting room with an open fire to keep you warm in the cold nights of tasmania, The Property has had recent renervations to the bathrooms and the apartments look well maintained. The property is fairly central to Launceston and most of the sites i walked to from the front doors. At the end of my trip i return for my last night for one last night in this historical property.
I would reccomend this wonderful property anyone as a great stop over for the night or a base for a week or two site seeing throughout the region.

  • Liked — the overall Abience of the property
  • Disliked — No real disappointments
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Outafocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacroft N.S.W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

We were one of three couples who stayed for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Launceston.
My partner and I had the "Duchess of York " apartment which had a loverly romantic theme and great city views.
One of the other couples was in the "Countess" and the other was in the "Baroness"
All were spacious with quite different themes, extremly comfortable and combining modern services with historic ambience.
We all loved the garden and enjoyed a wine sitting under it's huge oak tree.
All six of us loved the experience and are looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beacroft6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2006

Perhaps we should have been warned by the fact that there was only one review on this hotel. It was written in 2004 and I feel the writer was wearing rose coloured glasses. The building is on a very busy street. The garden at the back very small and certainly not secluded as implied. On entering the building there is a very musty smell which persists and a very run down air to carpets and paintwork. I am sure when the previous owners did up the apartments they were very smart, but after 15 years they need a spruce up. I am afraid they are trading on the quaint effect for the American market. Even on a sunny day the apartments are dark. We stayed in the Baroness and the washing machine is perched outside the kitchen door, which has to be open and shut to access the machine and could prove to be very dangerous as it is at the top of quite steep stairs. We were very disappointed and would certainly not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cygnet, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

This is a great place to stay. We stayed in the
"Baroness" apartment which has a real antique feel to it. I almost could see the "lady" herself in my sitting room. The apartment has two bedrooms a great bathroom(no bath though which my husband was disappointed in... I think he had visions of a great claw foot tub)a kitchen and a lovely "sitting room" complete with huge fireplace. Decor is really beautiful and you get the feeling you have stepped back in time. Launceston itself is on your doorstep(we had a view of fireworks from the Launceston show on our final night)The beds have electric blankets, trust me you will need them in Tasmania in wintertime. The gardens are beautiful(at the rear of the building)dont be put off by the front entrance,after all this is an old building. All in all I would recommend this place to all. Old world charm with all the mod-cons.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank starz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments At York Mansions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments At York Mansions

Property: Apartments At York Mansions
Address: 9 York Street, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartments At York Mansions 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Apartments At York Mansions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Mansions Launceston
Apartments At York Mansions Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing