We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance, romance, romance! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romance, romance, romance! ”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I took my husband away for our 25th wedding anniversary. I chose Alices's cottages for the simple fact of an open fire place as we live in QLD and don't get to enjoy the romance of an open fire that was the attraction for me. Once we arrived it became clear that it was more than what we expected. It became the honeymoon we never had. We stayed in the Scottish cottage with a lovely cat named Thomas who is the resident of the cottages. The cottage was warm and inviting,with all the artifacts though out the cottage it makes you feel like you have stepped back to the passed. If you want a romantic getaway or just a quiet weekend away I would definitely recommend Alice's cottages. Clean and tidy with a great verity of eateries in walking distance. I would also recommend doing a winery tour while staying there, the information can be found with the owners of the cottages. We will definitely be going back. J.D

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    24
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
105
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed at Camelot, a funny room that's i haven't stayed before. Spacious room with separate sitting room, bedroom and washroom.
The couples of the owners are very nice to introduce where should we go and eat around.
Well equipped kitchen though we haven't used during our staying. Funny masks, clothes, swords for us to use/wear to take photos.
One disappointed point is : the room was full of cooking steak smell during our staying .. maybe made by our previous visitors.
Anyway, this is nice B&B and would recommend to friends when they are in Launceston.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millthorpe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

This place was just not our cup of tea. I can't believe the reviews. We stayed in the boudoir it was soooo very tacky ! And dated. Ok the hosts are great and a real nice couple. But the room is full of crap in a poor attempt to theme it. It's old and a butt ugly dirty old pink carpet. There is no screen on the shower that opens into the room spraying water everywhere. The worst part is the toilet that is literally in a cupboard you have to drop pants and back in. Needless to say one person has to go for a walk to give the other a small bit of privacy. Anyway better to spend your money elsewhere unless this sort of thing is for you. (Some people seem to like it). Don't know why

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Iamdvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakenham, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

What a great place to stay in Launceston. we had 2 nights in 2 different rooms. the English cottage is absolutely beautiful just like the pictures excellent presentation. Also the boudoir cottage was also very good each cottage is so different. the owners were very friendly and helpful couldn't ask for more from them. great breakfast in the fridge for the morning. the price is very good also. do yourself a favour and stay here excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Delightful, quaint, reminiscent, cosy, welcoming...just a few words to describe alice's cottages. We have thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights and certainly recommend this B&B. We were given very generous breakfast provisions, as well as being left some lovely port and chocolate nibbles to enjoy in front of the fireplace should we choose. The location is quiet, close to everything including being able of walk to the Seaport and Cataract Gorge. Would happily return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My Partner and I spent one fantastic night in the Camalot room, its a fun and romantic getaway. The bed was so comfy, the spa was luxurious and the atmosphere fantastic. Brekkie was yum and the staff were lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in Aphrodites and highly recommend this place. It was peaceful and quite. Beds were soft and comfy. Huge bathroom. Kitchen was fully equipped with every possible thing one would need in a house and even clingwrap and aluminium foil was supplied. There was nothing to complain about. The owner Louise was extremely friendly so was the resident cat Thomas who visited daily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
866 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Property: Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained with roaring log fires and bubbling spas. Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. Saviour the complimentary bedtime port, chocolate truffles, brewed coffee and sweet treats which all just tops a tremendous experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing