We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Hideaway, Perfect for Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Charming Hideaway, Perfect for Couples”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The room was unexpected! I didn't want to go out once we stepped in - it's as though we stepped into a different world. We stayed at Camelot and the bed & decor lived up to its name. The place is warm, clean and luxurious. The spa bath was lovely. Amenities in the bathroom were excellent and toiletries were lavender-based. Location is excellent - in a quiet area but near supermarket/restaurants. Louise and Rob are very friendly and have prepared a folder of restaurants and bits of information which are very helpful. The breakfast basket was packed with yummy goodies and plenty to eat and drink. There are a selection of books and even a decanter of port(?) with chocolates ready for a nightcap. Wifi is weak in the room; we sat in the bathroom to get online.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    24
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
101
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have stayed here several times and every time is a new experience in one of the fantastic themed suites or cottages. All are comfortable with fabulous amenities. A warm welcoming family business run with a heart adds to the total experience. The bonus is that it is reasonably priced, close to the city centre and pets are welcomed.
Highly recommend this as a fabulous place to stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

3 wonderful days in the Welsh cottage. So quaint. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and a great,
relaxing spa with gorgeous lotions and bubble bath.

Terrific location. Walk to Cataract Gorge and to Seaport and retail hub, etc. A good Coles
supermarket nearby. Delicious breakfasts. The gardens were beautiful and we loved every
minute of our stay.

Well done Louise and Rob. Gracious hosts. We will be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_sessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Irish Cottage. It was amazing. The cottage has been beautifully restored and is extremely comfortable and you feel as if you have stepped back in time. There were books there that were over 150 years old!! Loved the fresh roses and port and chocolates. Breakfast provisions generous and spa bath great. Would love to have been able to stay longer and would love to stay again. You do need to be mindful that there are very friendly cats onsite if you are not a cat person. You need to make sure that one hasn't snuck in whilst you weren't looking. We had a few visit and they were quite prepared to stay. Problem was one got stuck under a table (I think he stood on the skirt of the tablecloth and he couldn't get out. If we hadn't gone looking for him, he would have been locked inside!
We couldn't get the fire to burn nicely but that's only a minor complaint as there was plenty of other heating. We just love open fires.
Overall a lovely stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at Bonnie Doon cottage. Great place to stay! The cottage is clean, cosy and relaxing. It has a well equipped kitchen for those wanting to cook their own meals. The breakfast provisions are substantial. Beds are comfortable and the themed décor adds a nice touch. The spa bath is a welcome addition to the end of a days touring! There are also laundry facilities in the cottage.
Stayed here on honeymoon, and upon returning 17 years later with 2 children was still impressed with Bonnie Doon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russelldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at very short notice at Aphrodite's cottage on the Alice campus for one night only. Highlights included the beds which were so very soft, the location so close to everything, the homeliness of the cottage including a great selection of books and LPs, and the friendly welcoming hosts who were just so refreshing from first contact to farewell particularly compared to the standard surly chain hotel counter staff. The cottage decor style was somewhere between retro kitsch and classic camp with a hint of colonial/Empire glory which made for an eclectic treat. The howling cats in the night were a little ordinary but not a game changer (their home not ours) and our only real regret was that we were only there for one night. Our next trip to Launceston for good food and wine will now include an equally great place to sleep. Our wonderful experience was reflected in the guest book comments of others who came before and were returning for subsequent stays. Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SiberianHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Shambles, I felt like I was living in a Scottish fairy tale. Each of the cottage's four rooms, quaintly decorated in Scottish period pieces, transported you back in time and to another world. Beautiful flowerbeds surrounded the property, and the on-site laundry room was an added blessing. Hosts Louise and Rob were so welcoming, helpful, and gracious; I was ready to move in permanently and did not want to leave! The food provided in the kitchen was ample enough for breakfast and a road snack as well. I would go back in a heartbeat if it weren't half-way around the world away!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanineKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Property: Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained with roaring log fires and bubbling spas. Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. Saviour the complimentary bedtime port, chocolate truffles, brewed coffee and sweet treats which all just tops a tremendous experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing