We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Certificate of Excellence
Burnie
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Have stayed there a number of times and it never loses its appeal, beautifully decorated and lot's of little extra's you wouldn't normally get.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    22
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
96
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I surprised my partner with a night away at Alice's Spa Hideaway Cottages. It more than lived up to expectations - i was a little unsure going by the pictures on the websites. The private, spacious rooms with it's own parking spot was everything and more you could want for a very romantic night away with a loved one. I asked the staff prior to arrival to prepare a platter for us (cheese, dips etc)... This was so yummy, and filled with so much fresh and local produce - even some dips they had made themselves. The room was so spacious, with a huge corner spa. The four poster bed and French style of the room, just set the most romantic mood of anywhere i have stayed in quite some time. The candles spread throughout the room are enough to light the room if you so wish. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very homely as well. The only thing we thought, was that TV could be a bit bigger, very pedantic i know, but almost difficult to watch from the bed. Would recommend to anyone want a quiet, romantic night away in a very central location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The owners of Alice's clearly care about what they do, and they do it well. We had two nights here when in Launceston and although the decor wasn't really my taste, it was as advertised, and perfect in every other way. There are so many little inclusions that you don't get anywhere else (complimentary port, homemade shortbread and chocolates and very generous continental breakfast pack)

We arrived two hours before check-in time but that wasn't a problem at all.

We booked "the shambles" which was actually the Welsh themed cottage. The spa bath here is one of the best I've ever had.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliekoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

So central and Aphordites house is stunning. Always wanted to bathe in a mirrored bathroom with satin lined ceiling and chandlier. Everything you require is in house and you can play old records in a lovely sitting room complete with window seat. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katdav1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We have stayed there twice and on both occassions the owners have been friendly and welcoming . Great breakfast provisions and well equipped kitchen. Loved all the little extras, port chocolates, etc. The bathrooms are large with fabulous spa baths and beds are very comfortable. Cottages have small safe yards which can be enclosed for pets. Good value and close to the heart of Launceston.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marysems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 8 nights and we found The English Cottage very homely and comfortable. Loved the breakfast tray and newspaper provided daily. The old English theme was very relevant to the 1800's including the front door key. Quiet and convenient, easy stroll to CBD, hosts Rob and Louise are very efficient and enjoy what they are doing. We would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here on the eve and night of our wedding. My bridesmaids and I got ready in the cottage the day of the wedding. We stayed in the 'Aphrodite Cottage' which is basically an old house filled with beautiful furniture. Some of the decor was a bit outrageous (e.g. cherubs on the ceiling of the master bedroom and a chandilere in the bathroom) but this just added to the experience. Loved the fully functional kitchen and piano in the sitting room. Lots of little things made a huge difference (port and choccies on arrival, continental breakfast already in fridge)

Staff were amazing (especially as there was a lot of coming and going on the day of the wedding) and super helpful. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarey86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.9 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways

Property: Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways
Address: 121 Balfour St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a wickedly wonderful romantic retreat in one of Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways tucked away in the historic heart of Launceston. The accommodation is self-contained with roaring log fires and bubbling spas. Launceston's finest restaurants and fabulous Cataract Gorge are a pleasant stroll away. Saviour the complimentary bedtime port, chocolate truffles, brewed coffee and sweet treats which all just tops a tremendous experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alice's Cottages and Spa Hideaways reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice's Cottages And Spa Hideaways Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing