We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views, great park”

Cataract Gorge Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$142.37*
and up
Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely views, great park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We traveled with another couple to Tasmania and decided to see the Launceston Cataract Gorge. Having been told that the park is a better option to taking the boat trip, we took the advise of others that had gone before us. We had a fabulous afternoon, hopped on the chair lift, that does cost, but is not unreasonable (they do a seniors rebate) to the top of the mountain, then walked back from the top and then up over the swing bridge. The photographic opportunities are endless and we took some really great aryt-farty photos. It is a wonderful park to go see, the locals must love this in the summer, it has a public swimming pool and lots of lovely grassy areas. Well done Launceston, we loved it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank daggs2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,921 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,592
    1,162
    151
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stanley TAS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place to wonder around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is a lovely place to walk along the trail and has plenty of history along the way. You can get food and beverages once you get to the restaurant at the end, also a chair lift to take you to the other side.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Need more time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Unfortunately our time in Launceston was limited and we arrived at the gorge at sunset. We still managed to have a walk around the grounds but would have been lovely to see it in daylight.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindyTxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Area - Must See In Launceston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We found the Cataract Gorge Reserve area to be fantastic area to spend the afternoon or morning. Lovely picnic area, free swimming pool with lifegaurds, just need warm weather for the water to warm up. You could quite easily spend a day walking around the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackSmith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a treat to be able to spend a lovely morning meandering along the good pathway through the Gorge. Breathtaking scenery along the way. Colours of trees and plants just gorgeous. Was surprised at every turn. So close to the centre of town and very enjoyable. Plenty of trails to take, suitable for all skill levels.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank freddo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cataract Gorge Reserve also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Cataract Gorge Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing