We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place to visit”

Cataract Gorge Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$141.78*
and up
Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass
Ranked #1 of 70 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
So. California
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome place to visit”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Peaceful, beautiful setting. Many choices of walking trails for leisure walks or serious hikers. Bring a camera! Flowers, waterfalls, bridges, rock formations, picnic area... all gorgeous!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank captaingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,585
    1,158
    151
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful natural gorge”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Firstly I would like to tell you that I am not a fan of heights but it was worth it to push myself to enjoy this attraction. We only had a short walk from our accomodation to get here. It was a Sunday afternoon and quite busy. Locals walking their dogs and a large loud group of "schoolies",( we were all young once).It was breathtaking, and didn't seem crowded once you kept moving.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank roswg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Nice walk to work out the kinks after flying with beautiful rock formations,boats on the gorge and viewing platforms for photo opportunities..A good walk for any level of walker!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScrapbytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Paz, Bolivia
Level Contributor
612 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
“Great walk”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

One can see the view from above or below, depending on the level of exertion one wants. We did both and each is lovely.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
384 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lucky Launceston!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

How fantastic it must be to live in Launceston and have this beautiful area right on your doorstep. Every visitor to this lovely city should make the time to walk into the gorge...there's a great surprise at the end...we were amazed. Speaking to a security guard, he told us that lots of uni students from nearby come in to sit on the grass & study...& we can understand why...just a short one km stroll through the gorge & you're there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jotibarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cataract Gorge Reserve also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Cataract Gorge Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing