We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Gorge..just wear good walking shoes!”

Cataract Gorge Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.42*
and up
Guided Canoe Tour on Launceston's Tamar River
More Info
$149.74*
and up
Australia Multi-City Attractions Pass
Ranked #1 of 74 things to do in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I came here after spending Xmas day 2010 at my husbands Aunty and Uncles place, who just happen to live 20 walking minutes away from Cataract Gorge. The walk up the steep hill to the gorge nearly killed me..and I was wearing my brother-in-laws runners (yes to big and no socks)...I wont make that mistake this Xmas (2012)!! The gorge is breathtaking and worth the pain I endured to see it. Thank god for the chair lift though...I needed that to cross back over otherwise I wouldnt have made the walk back to relatives house! If your ever in Launceston this Gorge is a must see! :)
Note: ( I had to put a date I visited there on this review and the earliest date it allowed me put in was Deccember 2011..I was actually there December 2010)

Thank Moochell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,141)
There are newer reviews for Cataract Gorge Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,712 - 3,716 of 4,144 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

Wonderful place with fantastic ambiance and well worth a visit. Cafe good both sides of the Gorge and lots of easy walking tracks.

Thank MAG45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I thought that the commentary on the 50 minute tour was very good & the gorge is amazing. It showed that Launceston is built on huge rocks. To be able to do a boardwalk walk into the gorge is great for those who like to walk.

Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We last visited the gorge 15 years ago in the middle of a drought, with just a trickle coming down. This time there was more water. The new inclinator was great for our travelling companions with mobility problems to get to and from the car park. A lovely place to visit and a treasure for Launceston

Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Brilliant! What a wonderful place to experience ... so peaceful & quiet and beautiful. Would see it again and next time will hop onto the chairlift!

Thank Jerjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cataract Gorge Reserve also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Cataract Gorge Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing