We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloomy and outdated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Coach House
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed November 15, 2010

I picked this accomodation based on good reviews on trip advisor but was a little disappointed as it was pretty dated and one of the people serving us was a bit grumpy (the others were VERY nice). We found the location very handy to walk to City Park with our 2yo - he loved the monkeys ! Also very convenient for walking to and from Aurora Stadium for an AFL match and to and from the CBD/mall.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TolmansHillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

After travelling for the last week, staying overnight in many different places we finally arrived at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston. The outside didn't look like much but once checked in and inside, we felt comfortable and couldn't find any fault. It was clean, had plenty of space, lots of amentities, reception was friendly and informative and there was free internet access. During our 2 day stay we could not find anything negative with this place and was a real pleasure to stay in. There is plenty of free and convenient parking, laundry access and most important of all the rooms were quiet. If I ever get the chance to go back to Launceston I would stay here again - fuss free!

The bed was wonderful - not too soft and not too hard, just right! The bathroom has a heater and is seperate to the toilet which is a great set up. The bed has an electric blanket and the room had plenty of space. The location is great - easy to find, its close to the city, shops and restaurants. It is also close to other attractions but not close enough to the city to get the noisy CBD and parking headache. All in all this place is a great place to stay when in Launceston.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ_Mizit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Not what we expected very old looking, unattractive, ugly motel. our room was on ground floor - which is lower than ground - more like a dungeon.
dated interior and the staff was indifferent to say the least

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussyasme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Having stayed in Launceston many times and in many varied types of accomodation, at last I have found somewhere where I would gladly stay again. Room clean and well appointed. Nice view from the opening windows. Clean bathroom providing all the necessaries. Above all no outside noise, as I have had some bad experiances with hoon drivers in Launceston, any night of the week, any hour of the night (believe me I have had this happen on all my previous stays) "Coach House" ticks all the right boxes for me. Staff were very off hand even appearing to be put out, when their computer viewing was interupted so that we could place our breakfast orders. Still this doesn't put me off the place and I will be back. PS (the walk into town is short and shouldn't be a problem)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

For the price, we found The Coach House to be a good place to stay.

The pro's were: Very close to the CBD, fairly modern furniture/appliances etc, reasonably priced mini-bar, nice thick curtains which shut off all the morning light, the breakfast was great, the hotel and surrounds were clean.

The con's were: The service was very... flat. Friendly enough but lacking in any form of enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HobartCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

Overall this hotel was basic, fairly clean and provided us with what we needed (a short overnight stay). The office staff was friendly and very helpful. I will say that this hotel is in major need of an upgrade. The hotel itself and the room was very outdated and old. The location is outside of the CBD but still walkable if reasonably fit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scurry_chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Comfort Inn Coach House is situated just out of the centre of town (walkable if you are reasonably fit) and the room we had was on the middle of three floors.

The room was large with opening windows which allowed us fresh air - very important for my wife - and yet was quiet all night. The car park was full, but we had a spot each time we left and came back so I assume there was just enough spaces or we were lucky each time

The room had quality features including a nice large firm bed - with a single bed in the room as well as the Queen and a decent plasma tv with several extra channels including 3 with movies.

Full buffet breakfast was included in the $125 package and the restaurant was a good size and had heaps of room when we went to breakfast.

Clean, well appointed, well positioned and excellent value. Good as a business motel overnight stay or for leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#5 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
1 mi away
Auldington
Auldington
#9 of 30 in Launceston
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.9 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Coach House

Address: 10 York St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Price Range: $97 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Coach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 room Motel is located in a quiet area of the CBD on Windmill Hill with views overlooking the City and the Valley of the Tamar River. Offering various accommodation options to suit corporate, families and couples. Free On-site Car Parking Free Foxtel Free Wi-Fi Free Newspaper Option of Room Service Breakfast or Breakfast Room Buffet with cooked to order meals (extra) Guest Self Serve Laundry Snack Bar available from Reception Local Attractions: Heritage Buildings, Aurora Stadium, City Park to see the Monkeys for free, Art Galleries, James Boag's Brewery Tours, Mall, State of the Art Aquatic Centre, Cataract Gorge, Tamar River Cruise, Old Umbrella Shop (1860), Gourlay's Sweets. Our Region: Bridestowe Lavender Farm, Wineries, Berry Farms, Convict Sites, Tamar River Wetlands, Ben Lomond Ski Village, Liffey Falls. Hollybank Tree Tops Adventure, Penguin Tours, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coach House Hotel Launceston
Country Comfort Launceston Coach Hotel
Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing