We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable if you get a good rate. Rather Dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed for one night with colleagues as part of a business trip.

I'd describe this hotel as 'acceptable but nothing more. My biggest gripe was there was no inbuilt airconditioning. Being summer it was actually quite hot and the room had a portable air conditioner that was very noisy and the airflow didn't reach the bed. In the room was an old pedestal fan that I ended up resorting to - but the cage was bent out of shape so it made an horrific vibrating sound so i had to take it apart to stop the noise. A big hassle at 1:00am when all I wanted to do was sleep.

Bed was comfortable. Plenty of space in the room. Bathroom was clean but very dated.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Was quite good. Downstairs bar was also pretty nice.

Overall the hotel seemed to be striving for a sense of luxury, which it might have in it's heyday, but it's well beyond that now. I'd much rather stay in one of the newer places Launceston has to offer unless I got a very good rate at the Grand Chancellor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msmegmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

We booked this hotel before reading some of the reviews and I have to admit by the time we checked in I was fearing the worst. On the contrary, the hotel was good value at $90 per night. Our room and bedding were comfortable, bathroom clean and well ventilated with good water pressure and plenty of towels. The previous reviewer's comments about the cost of room service and hotel restaurants could apply to any hotel. Hotels make their money from these extra services and charge through the nose accordingly. Unless you have money to burn, eat out.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

This hotel reminded me why I dislike staying at hotels in my home state.
But out of convenience, I did, and it was the cheapest in town at the time. I think the 4.5 star rating has got the hotel a bit excited and thinks it can charge exorbitant prices for everything. It might be the same elsewhere, but in Tassie I find it an insult to the Tassie people! $4-5 to get food to your door. $28 for 24 hours of internet. Funny prices for laundry, mini fridge contents, parking and more were also good. Struggle to get a feed for less than $30 in the hotel. The room was old, dull and so hot and stuffy. The window only opened 10cm. We had the A/C on until 4am and it did nothing.
But, that's what happens!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCAMEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 10, 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 22, 2009

We found this hotel to be a huge disappointment. It looks nice enough from the exterior, and the lobby is extremely deceiving.

Our room was extremely dated. The bed was terrible, the bathroom looks like it hasn't changed since the 80's - all plastic and peach. And the staff we had contact with were rude and unhelpful.

I'm not sure if there are renovations being done, but our room basically needed to be completely gutted.

As honeymooners we were extremely disappointed, and chose not to extend our stay which we had originally intended on doing.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomerLoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I will never go there again and I have also been told that it is bad after we were there. It tries to look 4.5 star on the outside but the rooms & corridors inside are an embarrassment! Room service menu was very limited considering the great variety of local produce. Chips we ordered were soggy, rubbery wedges not chips. The tv made a buzzing noise, TV was dated, the whole room was dated with a noisy portable airconditioner in the window. It was still cold for October and there was no heating!!!! Parking - was a vacant lot next door that you had to pay and was tiny and a lot of the parks were reserved. We had to wait 30mins for someone not staying at the hotel to leave the carpark so we could get a spot. We went into the reception to ask where can we park as there was no parks? the girl said the hotel doesn't own the carpark but they have an agreement with owners to allow us to park there! I am amazed that they built this large hotel and not put a carpark! The next day we drove to Hobart and we were staying at the Hotel Grand Chancellor in Hobart. Naturally I was worried we would experience crap rooms/service again BUT it was the complete opposite! Highly recommend the Hobart hotel, NOT the Launceston - Just pull it down!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed here for one night and found the room tidy but a little tired for a 4.5 star establishment. The double bed was so hard I thought at one stage of getting out and sleeping on the floor. The whole stay was spoilt by the bed which was completely unsatisfactory. It was low and of a very poor quality. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $98 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing