We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was quite nice, not sure about the bad reviews it's been getting, it was clean check in was fast. It was quiet at night time. Did the job for us.
The hire car desk was helpful and fast at organising a on the spot rental for us.
The location was about 5 minutes walk from the middle of town which was good exercise ! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarebear007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    533
    387
    140
    78
See reviews for
264
514
63
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

First night of honeymoon & first visit to beautiful Tasmania...was SO excited as not only its not only our honeymoon but a much needed break after being ill for a long time.
Entrance of this Hotel was dated & dusty, staff were all straight faced & treated us as just another number.So up we head to our room with excitement & ready to relax & start our Tassie adventure...as soon as we opened the door our hearts sank.Ahead of us were dirty windows..a thick layer of dust on coffee table & bedside tables & black hairs on the bathroom floor & dirty toilet.All around the toilet roll holder & wall were marks that were obviously splatter of urine & who knows what!!!Its obviously been there for some time but they havent bothered to clean it??It seems basic hygeine & cleanliness is to much to ask for.
The biggest upset of all is when i went to reception to ask if the room could be cleaned.The man asked if my bed was made & i replied with yes.He looked baffled & offered to upgrade us for another $30.00!! I explained we didnt want an upgrade, just for the room to be cleaned, the man went on to tell me he would call housekeeping & look into it.
My husband & i went for a walk as we didnt feel like sitting in grot & dust & on our return we found our room exactly the same.Obviously management & staff dont take pride in their jobs & money is all that concerns them.We moved on quickly the next day & stayed somewhere that removed the disappointed feeling we had....& we stopped sneezing (no more dust!!)
Gentlemen...if the lady in your life is special, then do not even think about taking her to this tired filthy place, a backpackers would seriously be better quality than this NOT so grand hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Launceston hotels

Braughing, Ware United Kingdom
Level Contributor
764 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel grand chancellor heralds a great hotel. Unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to its name. You arrive and are met by a charming receptionist but no porter to get your bags from car to room. Rooms are nice but dated with air conditioning units retrofitted, yuck. Bathrooms are clean but again in need of updating. And please don't charge us for a bottle of water! My pet hate, they charge a huge amount for WiFi..come on guys, just because you can't sting us for exorbitant phone charges since mobiles, don't try and get us on internet access. We are in the twenty first century, the local pub doesn't charge!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChefCliveM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed there recently,booked by travel agent.Very shabby.We were on Executive Floor.Dirty carpets,lifts and corridors.The hotel needs upgrading ,should be a one star.Bedrooms not much better.Staff offhand and casual.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eskBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The hotel is in a great central location and I was placed in a renovated room It was very nice and very big. It was fun, if not a little annoying that you could hear the bells chime every hour from the amazing old clock tower and the view of the town from my room was lovely. The only gripe, and there has to be one, the pillows were terrible!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights (third night free) in a Superior Refurbished King Room. Room was well appointed and clean, the location was good (a couple of blocks from the centre of town), parking was $6/day and buffet breakfast was very good ($20/person if pre-ordered by 10pm). We would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Downtown location and extremely close to many restaurants and cafes. CBD shopping area is just 5 minutes walk away.

Can walk to attraction like Art Gallery and City Park.

Great recently renovated rooms with Foxtel - fresh décor and a good supply of bathroom needs.

Buffet breakfast is very good - great choice and the quality of the food was very good.

Staff very friendly.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing