We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bright night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
“bright night”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

a mate and i decided on a shopping day in launie so chose the grand chancellor yes central and we found value for money but our room was right above the front entrance and the lovely lights that make the outside of the building look very pretty at night shone into the room so brightly the curtains were usless and to be honest i woke on many occasions and wasn't sure if it was night or day jolly shame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    624
    415
    150
    80
See reviews for
302
569
73
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay here for my birthday. We were upgraded which was unexpected and the room was very comfortable though slightly dated. The beds were very comfortable but the doonas far too heavy for my liking. Breakfast and car parking was included in the very reasonable tariff and I must say breakfast was far too good- we would be huge if we stayed here for too many nights! All in all GC hasn't lost it- we have been staying here on and off from it's inception many years ago and can still recommend it. Well done GC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for work, quiet comfortable would stay there again. Breakfast was reasonable at $20 for buffet. The only down thing, a little more effort on keeping curtains dust free. Centrally located to restaurants

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scamps62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very friendly and the hotel has a dated charm about it. My room was on the second floor. At night a huge orange spotlight outside which highlights the building shone into my room. The curtains didn't stop all of the light coming in. If you like a dark room ask for one away from the spotlight. Other than that it was an enjoyable stay and I would come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya_liddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Very spacious room with all the amenities needed to make for a good stay. Price was pretty good too. The young lady at reception was pleasant and efficient and check in was a breeze. When you leave the hotel via the rear exit/entrance you step out into a courtyard that has a range of different dining options. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the chancellor the second time this year. The room was spacious and clean, lovely view and very quiet yet central location.
Restaurant food was reasonable and very friendly service.
I would highly recommend and I will stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed here and would stay there again the staff are friendly, the rooms are warm and comfy and well appointed we even found some of the other guest where helpful as coming from a warm climate was instructed on how to remove the ice from the car without cracking the windscreen. The hotel is in a great spot and close to everything eg park and shops. A must try is the Cocobean Chocolate Shop the hot chocolate is to die for.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#3 of 30 in Launceston
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#2 of 30 in Launceston
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing