We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good affordable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good location with lots of pubs and eaterys close.
Clean, easy check in, good bed. stayed on level 7 and refurb bathroom probably above std for the price.
Did wait 45 minutes for room service and was spoken to abruptly by Kitchen when inquiry.
I'll stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21Rysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have been to Launceston many times all ways stayed in b&b . This time we decided to book at the Grand Chancellor for 4 nights (18th to 21st june 2013).Our room was beautiful king bed so much space so very homely lovely and quiet but right in the heart of Launceston ..The staff very friendly from reception to house keeping. Breakfast was 5 star quality we looked forward every morning for breakfast . We will be back next year thankyou Grand Chancellor for a lovely stay .Ray & Lynn

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor (top floor ) lovely view and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Super quick and efficient check in, excellent service! The hotel is obviously old but still has a lot of dignity and splendour. The room was super clean and the bed comfy, modern spotless, bathroom, and with lots of lovely hot water. We found though that things like pillows, towels and toiletries a little bit too little. The buffet breakfast was wonderful. We really felt that we got our money worth staying here and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the lift. We were right next to it and were woken by people talking ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights which included breakfast and parking. The rooms were big and the bathroom renovated beautifully. Lovely bar on ground floor with open fireplace. Rooms were nice and warm and beds comfortable. Buffet breakfast was ok but if it wasn't included we would have eaten elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have stayed there for 3 nights and we were able to get a B&B package for a very reasonable price. Upon check-in we were given a Queen room, though we have requested for a twin double room as we were traveling with a baby. Anyhow they changed our room quickly without any hassle. Rooms are fairly spacious & clean.
Hotel is located in the heart of Launceston CBD and very convenient if you are on a business trip. Reception was friendly and called us late evening regarding our late check-in.

Breakfast menu was same for all 3 days & note that you have to pay for the parking.
All in all, we loved the hotel and it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: You have to pay for hotel parking, unless you get a parking included package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Four of us stayed here for one night and the check in service was fast and efficient. This is an older hotel and it is quite dated. The rooms were neat and clean and quite spacious and the bathroom was also large and clean. Internet charges are expensive. It is an average hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

On a flying visit to Launceston we found it a little difficult to find convenient accommodation in the CBD. There is quite a bit of charming B&B in historical settings, but we were looking for a bit of value with good access. Many of the CBD offerings seemed to be entwined with cumbersome add-ons and spiraling prices. With the city pretty empty we were surprised at the relatively high cost of basic lodging. So it was on to the Grand Chancellor Hotel Launceston.

Some of the cumbersome add-on problem exits at the Grand Chancellor Launceston, costly breakfast, very expensive internet and extra charges for car parking. We were a little worried that we might get charged for having a shower and using the elevator!

But the twin room special on the first floor was satisfactory in a basic sort of way. Nothing fancy or particularly amenable about the room. The beds were comfortable and despite being next to the noisy elevator as well as laundry, a good night sleep eventuated. The room was generally clean although the bathroom was quite flush with dirty black mould.

The special was reasonably priced and the free parking in the street and free internet at the coffee shop at breakfast next morning was not too hard to take. Overall the Grand Chancellor Launceston was a just a bearable option.

Room Tip: Maybe it is best to be invited to a friends house in Launnie?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $100 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing