We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No good not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“No good not 4 star”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

How can you claim to be 4 star + when you have a portable air conditioner in the room today was 30+ Sorry not acceptable hopefully I will check out tomorrow to something more suitable for the price. Ate st the restaurant it was ok but again nothing special. Steak cooked and no flavour just a place to eat cos they have a captive audience 10 min walk to everything else

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    589
    407
    147
    79
See reviews for
286
553
68
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked a Wotif special. The Hotel is in a great location, rooms have been recently redocorated. The weather was 29 degrees all weekend, so a portable air conditioner did NOT cut it. It was very noisy, but we had to run it all night, as the room was so hot. Very annoying to step out into the hall, which was delightfully cool. This is the 2nd time we have had this problem at this Hotel. Will not stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the second time.

Close to central Launceston. Clean and tidy room, however the decor is very dated. The room contains a portable (and very noisy) air con unit.

Mini bar facilities are available. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom spacious and clean.

Buffet breakfast has a great variety, but extremly over priced (as most hotel breakfasts are!).

The hotel needs a face lift, but would look to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a refurbished room, really I have no complaints. The bed was comfy, nice couch, plenty of space, really clean.

Lots of tour groups staying, sound proofing was not too bad as they didn't distract me much as they all departed early in the morning.

Buffet breakfast was poor value for $25 and I definitely wouldn't bother with that part next time, plenty of places to eat brekkie outside the hotel.

So all up the hotel doesn't stand out in my mind, it has no stand out characteristics, but it's all clean tidy and functional. Can't ask for too much more I guess.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crstdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I really dislike being negative, but I do not understand the star rating of this hotel. The location is fine, opposite a very attractive church, within sound of the old post office bell (I think), within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean, but there were only long drapes at the window, no nets, so for privacy you basically needed to keep the curtains drawn. The place is attractive enough without being anything out of the ordinary. The showers were excellent in the third floor rooms in the sense that they pumped out a lot of water, but I don't know how that fits with the Hotel's claim to have "gone green." Second floor rooms seemed to have more modest and "green" shower heads.It advertises a bar open from 4pm, but it was impossible to get a drink at 5.30 on a Sunday, and when advised to go to the restaurant to get service, no-one was there. Overall, the place is ok, but the service is very variable, and not consistent nor up to this high star-rating. Next time I shall explore other options.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcentralcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
229 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Your experience with this hotel will depend on several factors: the individual staff you encounter (social skills and professional dedication to customer satisfaction vary), the particular room you stay in (renovated or not, facing the back or the front, low floor or high, near the lifts-elevators or away, etc.), and the hotel facilities you use (restaurant, bar, laundry-dry cleaning service, shops, Executive Club Lounge, etc).

If you drive to the hotel, note that the center of Launceston has several one-way streets. Immediately in front of the main doors of the hotel you need to lift your bags onto the sidewalk-footpath as the kerb is not ramped for rolling bags with wheels from the drive. Only the right side of the pedestrian walk is ramped for rolling bags (and disabled access) from street level. The other side if the walk is not fully ramped because of a lane connecting the front drive to the parking lot at the side of the hotel.

The staff we dealt with at reception during our stay were pleasant, helpful and cooperative. The large lobby area had sofa chairs and an ornamental fountain in the center. There were free local papers on a console table by the two lifts-elevators.

Our refurbished corner room on the fifth floor facing Cameron Street (with a pleasant view over the city towards hills in the distance) was spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. Free coffee-tea making facilities and standard toiletries — soap, shampoo and the like — were included. The room had bar fridge and beverages for purchase. We found the large beds and pillows comfortable. The air conditioning unit inside a corner of the room worked well without problem. The bathroom was clean and modern, though the semi-open shower stall was functional but not the most practical design.

Although at the end of the corridor, the room admitted noise of activities outside. We did not find this a particular irritant, though we would have preferred complete soundproofing. The windows had single glazing; however, the hotel is in a quiet area and if you are high up street noise should not be a problem. There was little through traffic during our stay. The room housekeeping service was reliable and comprehensive.

We found the prices high in the modern hotel restaurant for the food served — but then this was the case generally for restaurant food in Australia, even by European standards. There are several restaurants of various cuisines within a short walk from the hotel; however, check the serving hours as the center of the city closes down early.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the middle of Launceston such that you can walk to shops, restaurants, City Park, tourist attractions and the like in a few minutes at most. The back entrance of the hotel will take you to Yorktown Square, a pleasant, open shopping center with restaurants, from where you can continue to the city's main shopping streets.

Up the street from the hotel towards the park is a take-away Chinese restaurant and next to it a milk bar on the corner. In the other direction from the hotel, La Cantina Italian Restaurant around the corner and up George Street had pushy staff who kept interrupting our conversation with friends to ask us if we wanted to order additional dishes: the pizzas we were eating were just merely adequate and expensive enough without our wanting to spend more. Iam's Kitchen a bit farther up is a basic, family-run Korean restaurant with tasty food, friendly service and reasonable prices.

Staff told us that the parking lot next to the hotel and the one across the road did not belong to the hotel. They are free for certain hours of the night but, otherwise, cost AU$6 per day. Many streets have paid parking bays. You can find free street parking two blocks away on William Street where you will see Boags Brewery. Ensure that you do not park in a loading zone. The short cut on foot to William Street is through the open parking lot across the street from the hotel and then across Cimitiere Street and through a covered garage and open parking area. Given the price of our room, free parking should have been included in the tariff.

We were told that WiFi use in the room cost AU$27.50 for 24 hours and AU$10 for two hours. Use of the Business Center computer was AU$10 for half-an-hour. Again, we think that the hotel should have included free WiFi within the room tariff.

These additional charges might not bother business people with all expenses paid; however, if the costs come out of your own pocket, you might want to explore other accommodation in the immediate area which would give you better services and value.

You can find free WiFi at the city's three MacDonalds (99-105 Howick St., Hobart Rd at the corner of Opossum Rd., and Goderich St. at the corner of Forster St.). They close at 11 p.m. Sunday to Thursday and at midnight on Friday and Saturday. The public library does not offer WiFi, which is a pity as it is a short walk away which the MacDonalds are not. We were told by other guests that there were locations in the immediate area with free WiFi, but did not get details.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms, top floor, end of corridor, away from lifts-elevators; avoid the back facing mechan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelydra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend VIC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited "festivali" in Launceston so well located. Well priced, reasonable location. Overall I would rate this as an above average hotel, not great, not bad. I probably would would stay here again, but for not more than 1 night. Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Clean bathrooms. In my opinion, just not quite Henry jones!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CassiusWoodend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
1,383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
850 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing