We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did The Job...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Not much to say about this hotel unfortunately; I only used it as a brief stay after arriving into Launceston Airport one evening and left by 10am the next day. The room was very spacious and clean and well laid out. The staff were all helpful and friendly, and the room service pizzas we ordered were delivered relatively quickly and were great.
Big bonus for this hotel, especially for travellers like myself arriving quite late, is that there is an Avis Car Hire desk in the lobby, and the chap on the desk that morning was very helpful and friendly (we also got a car upgrade :-) ). Having this desk was one of the main deciding points in the hotel's favour when we chose it.
Location wise it seems to be very well sited fairly close to the city centre, with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. On the Saturday morning that we left, there was a market being held opposite the hotel main entrance. This place would definitely be on my shortlist for places to stay in Launceston.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chileman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-HGCL, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Greetings Chileman…..

On behalf of the team here at the Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, I would like thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us…..

I am pleased that we met your expectations on what was a short overnight stay with us…..it is great to hear that our team members were helpful and friendly and you enjoyed the room service pizzas!

I’ve passed on your kind comments to Paul who is the AVIS franchisee based here in the lobby of Hotel…..i think you’ve made his day!

The Harvest Market you are referring to has been operating each Saturday morning for 12 months now in the council car park directly opposite the Hotel…..the quality of the produce is second to none and having the ability to interact with either the primary producer such as the apple grower or cheese maker is a real treat…..i personally shop there each week myself…..

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when next you choose to visit Launceston…..

Warm Regards
Glenn Robertson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,541 - 1,547 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed there a few times. It's ok, staff is friendly & helpful. Brekky is usually good, smorgasboard, but there's no atmosphere to speak of. Rooms are very nicely furnished. Heaps of hallway & lift traffic though. Most other guests seem to be business people with little time to enjoy their stay. You pay for the convenience of being located near the CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 249Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My fiance n I stayed at the Grand Chancellor while in Launceston for a mate's wedding. We stayed in one of their king sized spa rooms. It was lovely with lots of small bonus' like bathrobes on the bed on arrival along with a plate of chocolates n fruit. The spa was so relaxing n spotless clean. The shower roomy n bed so comfy. The lobby is so lush n the hotel has some lovely shops n hairdressers. The hotel is close to Launceston shops n has hire cars on site, which are completely hassle free n lovely to deal with.
Had a lovely stay n will stay again if back in Launceston.
Ps Katie at reception was so lovely n helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall not a bad stay.

Didn't really like the $100 hold on the credit card that you actually had to sign. Most hotels do a hold without getting you to sign.

Room was nice but the separate aircon unit on the floor was a bit noisy. Ended up turning it off.

Didn't eat at the hotel this trip

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonQLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in a refurbished room, which was spacious and comfortable.
The room was well appointed and the bed comfortable.
Whilst the car parking was very reasonable, on the weekend it isn't large enough, and we had to park on the street even though we'd paid for parking.
The breakfast was great.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Prior to its upgrade a few years back, the Grand Chancellor looked a bit tired. But not any more.

The rooms are very large with sitting areas, a desk, table and our room had a dressing room next to the bathroom - no luggage in the main room at all.

Located near to the city gardens, shopping district and Boags Brewery, this is ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ausman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have just stayed at the Grand Chancellor for the second time this year and will definately stay again. The location is fabulous and the rooms are roomy and very nice. The foyer is lovely and there is a bar/lounge off to the side where you can sit and relax and have a drink - it is closed on a Monday for some unknown reason even though there were alot of people sitting there so maybe they should re open on a Monday? The business centre I used because I didn't take my lap top and it is a cost of $10 per 1/2 an hour. There is free wifi though all the same. The buffet breakfast is one of the best anywhere, it is $25 per adult however if you pay the night before 10pm it is $20 - well worth the money. There is a great little set of shops out the back of the Grand Chancellor which you can walk thru their walk away to go to them. At the end of the street is a magnificent park - City Park which also has a monkey enclosure. The gardens are the best! Loads of shops, restaurants and pubs surrounding this great hotel. We actually also loved Benjamin who I believe is the manager of the Grand Chancellor who was absolutely gorgeous and made us extremely welcome as if we were friends, we would definately even re visit the Grand Chancellor even to see Benjamin again! All around a great trip, except for hiring a car from Europcar who are making out I damaged their car - don't hire from Europar! But do stay at Grand Chancellor!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
969 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.2 mi away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $101 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing