We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed before and will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We really like the Grand Chancellor, the location is fabulous the gorgeous City Park is only at the end of the street, maybe 100 metres and it is gorgeous, the hotel we got was in the not undated section however we got a very good deal and cannot complain. The rooms are a reasonable size and the bathrooms a good size too. There were a couple of broken tiles in the over the bath shower however when you pay such a small amount to stay I don't believe you can complain. If you are picky, yes the rooms are a little tired however goes back to price. The lobby is really nice and we liked the roominess of the lobby. There is a large bar there were you can sit and have a couple of drinks and talk amongst yourselves or with other travellers which we always like. The buffet breakfast was fabulous $25 and one of the best ever, extremely large selection to choose from. All in all we loved our time at Grand Chancellor and would be definately back. If there was one thing that did get to me a little is that you can hear people in the hallway as if they are in your room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Not sure why it gets 4.5 stars. But it was clean - very 80's and had a bath! I believe they have another area with newer fitouts. The windows open which was great.

The food was really lovely. We had dinner and lunch. Try the BLAT in bed ;-) if you're not up before the breakfast cut off at 1030 am grrr.

Room Tip: Ask for a soft bed. Ours was way too hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We booked into the Hotel Grand Chancellor for dinner in their restaurant and ended up walking out. We were kept waiting without anyone acknowledging our presence before being ushered to our table which was dark and dingy. When we asked to be moved to another table, the waitress mentioned how dark the previous table was and how they had been waiting for over a week for the light to be replaced. We moved to a new table and then waited and waited and waited. We had enough waiting time to look through the menu which was uninspiring and overpriced (not to mention the many spelling mistakes) so decided to leave. Attention to detail is important - particularly if you are going to be classed as 4.5 stars. Too many oversights, don't waste your money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peneloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The Grand Chancellor is an ordinary hotel that once upon a time might have been a great 4.5 hotel... however that's definitely not the case anymore.

I stayed at the GCH twice in the past weeks, the first time 2 nights (31 March - 2 April 2012) & 5 nights (15 - 20 April 2012)

The first stay was in a standard (non-renovated) room on level 1, the room was very old and dated, the manchester (quilt cover) had an odd smell.... The carpet was sticky and the hotel doesn't provide slippers (unusual for a 4.5 star hotel). The room had only ONE power point, difficult to charge phone, ipad, laptop etc. at the same time. The room had a dirty feel, not very pleasant.

The second time (5 nights) I paid AU$30 per night surcharge to be upgraded to the newly renovated rooms, I stayed in room 3026. The room was ok, except that when I arrived the first day the rubbish bin had not been emptied/cleaned and it had food/rubbish from previous guests.

The main differences between the old rooms and the new ones are few: new bed, new bathroom and this room had 4 power points :) everything else seems to be the same (old)
Both rooms had a portable air-conditioning unit which was very noisy.

Customer Service is poor, staff are unhelpful, parking is difficult as it seems to be full ALL the time.

In conclusion, it is an OK place to stay, I wouldn't stay there again if I can help it.

Room Tip: Stay at Hotel Charles, a modern, clean hotel with friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leilani88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank KFCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great to be able to walk everywhere from this hotel. Targa, the motor race, was based in Launceston when we were there so we got a wonderful viewing of 200 or so special cars. The room was spacious and bathroom quite large. Portable air conditioner in the corner of the room was not so good, but luckily weather was not hot so we didn't use it. Reception were helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KERRYGAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Grand Chancellor properties vary quite a lot. This one is a bit 'olde worlde' while trying for grandeur.
The room (like much of the property) was a bit over-decorated for my liking, but spacious and comfortable, and reasonably well-appointed.
There is a portable A/C unit in the room and I was rather glad I did not need to use it. Interestingly, you can open the windows for fresh air - and I do like that.
I had a reasonable outlook over part of the town, with some fine old buildings in view.
The reception staff were pleasant, although some seemed to think they were in a major European hotel rather than in Launceston. The staff in the restaurant were more down-to-earth and friendly.
I had the buffet breakfast in the restaurant - good range, good quality, regularly replenished, and much better value than the room service breakfast.
The property obviously takes a bit of upkeep and one of the two lifts can be temperamental (you need to be patient - two small lifts for a property this size is not quite enough).
The property is very well located, an easy walk from all the central shopping, eateries and facilities and from the historic city park (well worth some chill-out time), and it is a fairly easy drive (once you know how to handle the one-way grid) from the attractions in the wider area. Launceston is a very nice city in a lovely part of Tasmania, with a feast of natural and cultural heritage attractions, and the hotel is well placed for visitors to take advantage of all it has to offer.
There is parking next door for a very modest $6 per day through a hotel voucher.
Also economical was the tariff - I was very favourably surprised.
It is an interesting experience staying at this hotel - perhaps not quite as grand as it would like to be, but offering good value in a great location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canberra_no_mad_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 mi away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
932 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Launceston
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.1 mi away
Quest Launceston
Quest Launceston
#8 of 30 in Launceston
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston

Address: 29 Cameron St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: $95 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston, the city's premier 4 1/2 star hotel, offers superior accommodation, superb Tasmanian cuisine and extensive conference facilities in the centre of the northern capital of Tasmania. Catering for the discerning corporate and leisure traveller, Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston is only a short stroll from the main central business district, shopping malls and Aurora Sports Stadium. Features include: 165 Hotel Rooms, Executive Club Lounge, 8 Convention Rooms & Restaurant & Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing