We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveler rating
502
343
128
36
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
502
343
128
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three steps open fire free parking close to town old world charm breakfast room main building a ground floor room off street parking great place to stay quiet location plenty of parking comfortable bed an easy walk would stay again great value for money cataract gorge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

We spent our last 2 nights of an 8 day northern Tasmania holiday here and it was very comfortable.The bed was jut right enabling a great nights sleep.The room was on the second floor and was very quiet, clean and relaxing. The location was within minutes walking distance of the city centre and the Charles St eating precinct. Check in/out was friendly and fast . There was also free off street parking which is always a bonus.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

Wow, what a great place. Had a terrible experience at another hotel which was uninhabitable. It was Easter and the other place had no restaurant open, no room servicing, disgusting smell in it and no set down or parking.So we looked up places online and found the Colonial inn. What a difference. Restaurant open , breakfast available, great rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, historic old buildings, great food, even a charging plug for electric cards .All for half the price of the other dodgy place. we will definately be back and have already recommended to others

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V2372RRmichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

We had my Brothers 50th birthday family dinner here. Guests from Sydney, Melbourne and locally. A party of 12 with varying meals. Fantastic service, meal sizes and meals. Everybody in the party have no complaints at all. Well done everybody

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 390tamaraq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonialtas, Reception at Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Three Steps team.

We hope to see you back in for dinner soon.

CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Unique hotel with free parking (some undercover) as a plus. Easy walking distance to city and surrounds (park right next door). Great restored interior of main building oozed old world charm & comfort. Relaxation plus.We had a suite on the third floor of a back building.Spotless. Very comfortable huge bed in separate bedroom and what seemed to be a large brand new swank bathroom. Separate large lounge area.Very quiet room. A few stairs to climb..pretty easy really but could be a problem if you are elderly. Staff fantastic,especially Sophie,a waitress in the restaurant.Food we had was wonderful,Venison Pie and Lamb shoulder...served by the highly efficient Sophie.
All in all a nice experience..we will be back.Better add a special mention for service from Casey and of course the Colonial ambassador Lincoln the Lab..and if i must..his owner.

Room tip: Our suite was on the 3rd floor towards the back of the complex...was very quiet.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 44Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonialtas, Reception at Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our One Bedroom Executive Suites. We have recently renovated a large portion of the hotel, so are delighted to see that our guests are already enjoying the benefits.

We are very proud of our restaurant (Three Steps on George), and definitely agree that our staff are fantastic. Sophie will be delighted to know that she made a positive impact on your dining experience.

Lincoln is a favorite with staff and guests alike, and is always ready to receive pats and belly rubs!

We sincerely hope to see you both again sometime near in the future.

Kind regards,

CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

We stayed at the Colonial for a fly in visit, was great, room was nice and big, warm and beds were really comfy, the shower was great!! The main building is a beautiful historic building which was really cool. We had room service for dinner (scallops Yum!) And we were well looked after, would definitely recommend and stay again when we are back in Tassie

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank tomlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews